The ABCs of Thankfullness 2015

thanksgivingIt’s just not Thanksgiving without the ABCs of Thankfulness. Originally found on Trish’s blog, this has been my Thanksgiving tradition since 2010, except for last year when I was traveling for the holiday. This year, I’m sitting at my mom’s sipping on a long-cold coffee, watching the second best part of Thanksgiving: the National Dog Show. Soon, I will be eating barbecue, with maybe a little bit of reading and crocheting thrown in as well. It’s a lovely, lazy day filled with food and family.

This past year has reminded me just how much I have to be thankful for and 2016 is only going to bring more wonderful things.

Previous years: 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013

April. Big things are happening in April! I’m thankful for the month of April and looking forward to wonderful things.

Books-on-tape. Audible! You are a life-saver. I drive all over Virginia for my job and having audiobooks makes the drives a little bit more fun.

China travels. Michael and I are heading to China for Christmas and I’m so excited! I’m thankful for having the opportunity to travel.

DIY. So far, my favorite part of planning a wedding has been making things and learning how to make of things. (Well, other than the food tasting… that was the best part.) Everything from teaching myself calligraphy to painting to some paper crafts I have planned for after the new year.

Earl! The best, goofiest pup in the whole wide world. I’m so thankful we adopted you last December. I can’t imagine my life without you.

20150428_175148 (2)

LOOK AT THAT FACE. JUST LOOK AT IT.

20150626_122526

Yup, that’s the same face.

Family. Need I say more? I’m so thankful for my family, and especially for my little family with Michael and Earl. We’re a unit, a team, partners, friends. It’s the best.

Grandmom. My grandmother was the best. Everyone loved her when they met her. I miss her every day, but lately I’ve been missing her even more. I’m so thankful that I got to spend as much time with her as I did and grateful to have a family determined to carry on her traditions.

Home. Virginia is my state. I left it for a few years and I might leave it again one day, but right now I’m happy to be back. Mountains, bays, oceans, cities, and country. People from all over the world, history, and good weather. I’m sure other states have those things, but Virginia probably does it best. I’m just thankful to be back.

Inside. This Thanksgiving, I’m so thankful for my space. It’s full of bookshelves and light and comfy couches.

Joy. Pure, unbridled, uncomplicated joy. I’m so thankful when that happens.

Kayaking. One day, I will be so grateful I own my own kayak. For now, I’m grateful that I live in a place where there are kayaks for rent and plenty of rivers to explore.

20150729_131605

Love. I love and I am loved.

Mysteries. Thanks for being delightful reads.

Nonfiction November! Thanks for keeping me blogging and for bringing together awesome bloggers to talk about fabulous books.

Owly. Sure, I’ve picked owls almost every year, but I’m mixing things up this year, I’m going with Owly! Only the cutest comic book/kids book of all time.
owly wormy

Parks. There are some wonderful parks around my neighborhood and I’m just so thankful!

Quiet. Sitting in the morning with my coffee after walking Earl, reading a few pages in my book before starting work. I’m so thankful for those moments.

Reading. Wait, wait, wait. I’ve never used reading? How is that possible?! I’m so thankful for reading and all it has meant to me over the years.

Songs. I’ve been putting together a playlist of love songs for cocktails/dinner and it’s just reminding me how beautiful a love song can be. I’m thankful for music and for long songs.

Traditions. Thankful for the traditions we have and the ones we’ll make.

Umbrella. Thanks for keeping me dry!

Visitors. Nothing better than having people come stay for a visit.

Walks. Thanks, Earl, for making me take two walks a day.

X-stitches and all the other crochet stitches. I’m thankful for you!

Year, New. Time to start fresh! 2016 will be the best.

Z, love of my life, thank you for everything. I can’t wait for our next chapter!

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

3 thoughts on “The ABCs of Thankfullness 2015

  1. Oh my gosh! You’re engaged?! Congratulations! I need to get back to the ABC’s of Thankfulness…I think it is a lot of fun and helps remind me all that I have to be thankful for. 🙂

Leave a Reply

