Nonfiction November Week 1 – My Year in Nonfiction

cork w books

Nonfiction November is here! While I’m sad to see October go, with its mild weather and spooky reads and beautiful leaves, Nonfiction November makes the approaching cold a little bit more bearable. I can’t wait to read all your posts this month!

One of the main reasons that I wanted to start Nonfiction November last year was because I don’t really feel like I spend enough time reading nonfiction, even though I typically enjoy it. I don’t seek it out. So, in my standard fashion, my year in nonfiction has been pretty slim.

So far, this year, I’ve read:

  • Things I Learned from Dying by David R. Dow
  • A Matter of Life by Jeffrey Brown
  • Calling Dr. Laura by Nicole J. Georges
  • Marbles by Ellen Forney
  • Busted by Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey
  • Wild Ones by Jim Mooallen

Okay, typing that out, it’s actually a lot more than I thought! Graphic Novel February is also great for my nonfiction reading, since three of these (A Matter of Life, Calling Dr. Laura, and Marbles) are all graphic memoirs. Now, to answer some questions!

What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year?

It’s so hard to choose! I really liked Wild Ones and I think Marbles is such an amazing account of Forney’s struggle with bipolar disorder, but the winner this year so far is Things I’ve Learned from Dying by David R. Dow. I think Dow is an underrated writer and more people should be reading his books. Dow is a death row lawyer who does not believe in the morality of the death penalty. He spends most of his time trying in vain to get his clients off death row, whether they are innocent of their crimes or not, rarely succeeding. Things I’ve Learned from Dying is a meditation on life and death that is beautiful and poignant and while it was often heartbreaking or difficult to read, I can’t recommend it enough.

What nonfiction book have you recommended the most?

Probably Parasite Rex. I read it with Aarti last year and every time anyone mentions anything to do with parasites, I bring this book up. I loved it.

What is one topic or type of nonfiction you haven’t read enough of yet?

History!!! I read a lot of memoirs and some science nonfiction books, but I definitely want to read more books about history. I don’t know as much as I’d like and I want to know more! About all kinds of history.

What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?

I’m really looking forward to reading a lot of good nonfiction and getting great recommendations from other bloggers. Y’all know all the good books, after all.

I can’t wait to read your posts! Remember, this month’s linky will be hosted by Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness, so please head over to her blog to share our post this week before Friday! Also be sure to check out my other cohosts and their posts this week at I’m Lost in Books and Doing Dewey!

35 thoughts on “Nonfiction November Week 1 – My Year in Nonfiction

    1. Mine too, for sure! The whole point of this annual event is to read the nonfiction I already have sitting on my shelves, but truly I just end up buying a lot more nonfiction… NO REGRETS.

  1. Oh wow, Dow’s book sounds really interesting, but I wonder if I could handle it..

    Yay for hosting this month! I’m sure I’m going to add LOTS of books to my wishlist 🙂

    1. There were certainly parts of Dow’s book that were difficult to read, but I think it as such a beautiful and poignant and honest exploration of how all the different types of loss we experience throughout life can impact us. I just want everyone to read it, despite the difficult subject matter.

  2. Thanks for hosting lovely lady! I’m always wanting to read more nonfiction as well…and I’m glad you mentioned some graphic memoirs as I’m hoping to read some graphics the last week of the month as part of Reading in Winter’s Graphic Novel week. I’ve put Marbles and Calling Dr. Laura on my list.

  3. I’m so excited that you’re doing this again! I have a feeling I would love Wild Ones, so I’m glad to hear good things about it. Can’t wait to hear all the great recommendations everyone has lined up for the month!

    1. Yes, please read Wild Ones!! Aarti recommended it to me originally and she was spot on. It’s just so good and so interesting.

    1. A lot of people have this reaction when I tell them about it, but I didn’t have that reaction at all!!! I loved it and didn’t think it was in the least bit gross. Fascinating, yes! A little scary sometimes, sure. But there was also just a lot of hopeful/interesting information about the possibilities of parasites and their role in our world.

    1. I’ll have to check out your blog from some historical nonfiction recs then!!! Parasite Rex definitely didn’t turn me into a paranoid maniac! I think you’ll like it!

  4. Ooh, I didn’t even know there were nonfiction graphic novels. I don’t read graphic novels at all right now, but this is an area I want to explore in the future and will definitely add your nonfiction picks to the list!

    1. I really enjoy nonfiction comics – it’s such an interesting way to explore a topic. I hope you find a few you enjoy! I really recommend anything by Joe Sacco.

  5. I was gonna go all graphic memoir with my faves but decided to spread the love (I just included Marbles). Calling Dr. Laura and Hyperbole and a Half were the other two that I was going to name drop. They are awesome.

  6. I thought Bossy Pants was so much fun–I listened to Tina Fey read it and just loved it.

    Looking forward to Nonfiction November–great way to ease into winter.

  7. I’ve really been enjoying Nonfiction November! I am looking forward to reading many more great posts and adding to my Toppling TBR Tower.

    I’m still in my first year of blogging, and I didn’t know about Graphic Novel February–excellent!

  8. Wow, Things I’ve Learned from Dying sounds really interesting. I love nonfiction books that force me to exam moral issues in a new way.

    Thank you so much for co-hosting!

Leave a Reply

