Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

9780545424967

I first downloaded The Raven Boys on audio because I thought it was a different book. It was an excellent mistake.

I first fell in love with The Raven Boys because of the narrator, Will Patton. The particular lilt of his voice is beautiful, the cadence like poetry or song. It calms me. I always keep an audiobook from The Raven Cycle downloaded on my phone so I can pick a point in the middle of the story and listen if I’m feeling nervous. I especially like to listen to it on airplanes.

It was more than just the narration of The Raven Boys that made it great, of course. I do think that Will Patton could read me the phone book and I would be happy, but Stiefvater’s prose is like magic, effortless and intricate and lovely and surprising. Sentences that shouldn’t work do. Things that should sound cheesy instead just sound right and like there is simply no other way to describe it.

It’s everything else that keeps me coming back for more. The characters are complex. Good and bad. No one is wholly evil and no one is wholly good. The characters surprise and charm  Now that I’m back in Virginia, I’ve been enjoying the setting even more. I’m originally from Virginia and I’ve been spending a lot of time in the area where Henrietta is supposed to be. It’s just fun to read about places and landscapes you recognize, people you could know.  I’m looking forward to more explanation of the magic, but oh how I love the combination of folklore and psychic powers and traditions.

When I first got The Dream Thieves, I read it much too quickly. I didn’t want to make that same mistake with Blue Lily, so I savored it and it is everything you have come to expect from this series. It is much less like a series than one continuous novel that has just been broken up into chunks, which is not a complaint. I’m looking forward to reading them all cover to cover one day.

We spent The Raven Boys getting to know our characters. The Dream Thieves was all about the magic of Cabeswater and two different dreamers. Blue Lily, Lily Blue is much more about moving the plot along to some kind of conclusion, though not without character development (so much Noah!) and more exploration of the magic that lives on the ley line. I loved that we got to know the women of Fox Way a little bit more in this installment.

It’s just nice to find a story to get lost in again.

I received a promotional copy of Blue Lily, Lily Blue from the publisher.

4 thoughts on “Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. YES! The audiobook of Raven Boys is excellent. I have not read Blue Lily, Lily Blue yet despite Scholastic autoapproval on netgalley precisely because I am waiting for the audiobook to come out (November 1 is the audio release date). Great review — I am excited for more NOAH!

  2. I. Cannot. Wait.

    I am undecided if I shall wait for audio (I’ve listened to the first two on audio) or read it in print first and reread in audio asap.

  3. I was half pleased we got so much Noah in this book (not enough Noah in The Dream Thieves!), and half super sad because NOAH, so many creepy and sad things happen to him in Blue Lily Lily Blue. I was so braced for bad things to happen to ADAM (which barely any did!), and I didn’t prepare myself at all to feel this miserable about poor Noah.

  4. I’m so looking forward to reading this, but it looks like I may not be able to get a copy on Saturday after all 😦 At least I’m first in line for the library copy.

    And yes, the setting is really fun!

Leave a Reply

