Top Ten Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More

After looking through my GoodReads for the year, I’ve realized that I’ve spent most of the year reading series and rereading favorite authors. It’s been a year of changes and I’ve mostly gravitated to comfort reads.

1. Luke Pearson – I read Hilda and the Midnight Giant earlier in the year and loved it, but I haven’t picked up any of Luke Pearson’s other books in the Hilda series. These books are quirky and cute and so fun to read, so I’m not really sure what I’ve been waiting for.

2. Diana Wynn Jones – I know! I finally read Howl’s Moving Castle last year and it was practically life changing, I loved it so much. I’ve been a little worried that the rest of her books wouldn’t live up to how much I loved Howl’s, so I’m counting on you to tell me what to read in the comments. Please!

3. Kelly Braffet – I’ll take any chance I can get to tell you to read Save Yourself, so I’m not sure why I haven’t picked up any other books by Kelly Braffet yet. I need to read Josie & Jack or Last Seen Leaving stat.

4. Matthew Quick – Amy makes me want to read everything Matthew Quick has ever written. I liked Silver Linings Playbook, so I look forward to reading more.

5. Richard Lloyd Parry – People Who Eat Darkness was one of the most interesting nonfiction reads of 2013 and the topics of his other titles all sound interesting, like In the Time of Madness: Indonesia on the Edge of Chaos.

6. Franny Billingsley – Chime was such a strange, wonderful reading experience, I’d love to recreate that with Franny Billingsley’s other novels.

7. Eva Rice – Meg convinced me to read The Art of Keeping Secrets, even though it wasn’t quite my kind of novel. I enjoyed it thoroughly and would love to read another of her novels.

8. Jesmyn Ward – I’ve been meaning for a long time to read Men We Reaped, the new nonfiction book by the author of the amazing Salvage the Bones.

9. Mary Doria Russel – I’m rereading The Sparrow this month and I’ve heard from a few people that I should also explore her other books.

10. Eleanor Brown, Amor Towles, Jenny Wingfield, Lauren Graham, Carol Rifka Brunt… and all the other debut novelists who need to get writing their second novels right away! I’ve been waiting patiently. Please hurry!

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More

  1. I recently bought a copy of Mary Doria Russell’s Doc because I loved the Sparrow so much. I’m pretty excited to get to that one eventually. Totally in agreement on Amor Towles – I need another book!

  2. *testing my ability to leave a comment here again…* I totally agree with you re: Howl being life-changing! I’ve read a lot of DWJ since then, and while a lot of it was enjoyable, I must admit that none have quite lived up to Howl.

  3. SINCE YOU ASKED: Diana Wynne Jones, that depends what you’re in the mood for. But generally speaking, I’d say read Charmed Life next. Then you’ll have the other Chrestomanci books as a natural next thing to read. Or you could always read Castle in the Air, which is a dear of a book set in the same world as Howl’s Moving Castle (not really a sequel).

  4. The Sparrow is a book that’s just recently caught my attention but it sounds like a bit of an experience! It’ll have to wait for a while. I have only read one DWJ, but it’s one of my favourite books — Fire and Hemlock. Save Yourself was a bit grim, dark, and even depressing for my taste. Everyone seemed so trapped and unhappy and powerless to do anything to change their life, or make better choices. It kinda left a bad aftertaste, to be honest!

  5. Hey! Come on over to The Emerald City Book Review from October 31 to November 6 for “Witch Week,” a whole week focusing on some of my personal favorite books by Diana Wynne Jones. (Only some of them — I have way more than a week’s worth). And you must read The Folk Keeper by Franny Billingsley, a slender gem of a story. I loved it so much it was hard for me to warm to the different voice of Chime, but I ended up enjoying that too upon re-reading. She’s definitely an author to watch.

Leave a Reply

