The Sparrow Readalong

sparrow

It seems like everyone has been talking about The Sparrow lately and I found myself leaving the same comment on the blogs that mentioned it: this is a book that totally destroyed me and I desperately want to read it again, but I don’t know if I can. This book affected me in a way few other books have and I think a lot of people feel that way. But the truth is, for a lot of the book I felt disconnected from it, which made my strong reaction to the last half of the book so surprising to me. I have long wanted to reread it, even though I knew it would be difficult, to reread the beginning of the book with the knowledge I have of the ending. Plus, I never reviewed The Sparrow on my blog and I’m looking forward to having the chance to write about it here.

sparrow-Readalong

So when Trish decided to do a readalong in September, it seemed like the perfect time to reread it. Fall has always felt like a good time to reread the books that have meant something to me and I’m looking forward to seeing how I feel about the book this time around. It’s not too late to join in! It’s a pretty informal readalong with a post to go up on the 15th and the 30th. I think it’s best to go into this one knowing next to nothing about the plot, so I won’t give anything away here. If you haven’t read The Sparrow, I do hope you’ll join us for the readalong or add it to your TBR.

4 thoughts on “The Sparrow Readalong

  1. SciFi is absolutely not my thing, but recently the folks at Books at the NIghtstand challenge Simon and I at The Readers to read this one. I am encouraged by this post and now eager to see what it is all about.

Leave a Reply

