R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril IX

lavinia-portraitRIP1

This time of year, I start obsessively checking Carl’s blog, going back and checking last year’s date… isn’t it time for RIP? It’s the best time of year. I love summer, but not as much as I love fall. I love sweaters and scarves and hot coffee (perhaps of the pumpkin flavor). I love harvest festivals, and apple picking festivals, and oyster festivals. Pumpkin picking! Pumpkin carving! Pumpkin pie!

But, maybe best of all, I love creepy reading. Last year I read Rebecca, The Resurrectionist, The Woman in Black, and Save Yourself by Kelly Braffet. (Annual PSA: If you haven’t read Save Yourself by Kelly Braffet, what are you waiting for?) This year, I have an awesome pile of books to read through Halloween, starting with Garth Stein’s newest book A Sudden Light. I’m also excited to read The Supernatural Enhancements by Edgar Cantero and The Witches of East End by Melissa De La Cruz.

This year, I’ll be participating in Peril the First, which is where you read at least 4 creepy books, but I’d like to read even more. Will you be participating in RIP this year?

7 thoughts on “R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril IX

  1. You will have to let us know what you think of The Witches of East End. It is one that I have wanted to read for a while.

  2. I’m so with you! I get so excited when Carl announces this challenge (along with pumpkin flavored things :p) And it looks like I’ll be adding Save Yourself to my list!

  3. Love it that this time of year has finally come, and SO appreciate your enthusiasm. I look forward to this time of year for many of the same reasons you do. Love the colors and the smells and everything about it. Yay, its here!!!!

  4. YAY AUTUMN!!! I always love the joy in your voice when you talk about fall, Lu! 😀
    I do have a feeling this RIP is going to be hard on my wish list (okay, like when isn’t it, huh?)…I haven’t even heard of those ones you’re hoping to read. Ahh, but adding books to one’s wish list is really a good thing, right?

Leave a Reply

