Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

The Top Ten Books I really want to read but don’t own/haven’t checked them out from the library yet are:

top ten 8-26

1. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami – Have you seen this book? It’s a beauty. The online image of its cover does nothing for it. It’s a book you just have to see in person. A new Murakami is always a reason to head to the bookstore. I couldn’t get through 1Q84, but I plan on returning to it one day soon and trying again. This one seems much more manageable in size and I tend to like Murakami’s shorter novels better anyway.

2. Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor – So Daughter of Smoke & Bone is one of my favorite reads of 2014. It’s just so beautifully written and the story so interesting. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on Days of Blood & Starlight. I just finished that one and I didn’t love it nearly as much as Daughter of Smoke & BoneDaughter of Smoke & Bone felt effortless. Days of Blood & Starlight felt like it suffered from middle book syndrome, serving little purpose but to push the plot along, losing out on most of the beautiful language and storytelling that made Daughter of Smoke & Bone so wonderful to read. I am still excited for Dreams of Gods & Monsters, thoughand eager to finish this series.

3. Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater  This might be cheating, because this book isn’t even out yet, but I am so excited to read it. If you follow me on Twitter, you have probably heard me go on (and on) about the audiobooks for the Raven Cycle and how lovely they are and how perfectly calming and wonderful narrator Will Patton’s voice is. That being said, I don’t think I’ll be able to wait for the slow pace of audio to devour this one.

4. Yes, Please by Amy Poehler – There are few things that make me happier than Parks & Recreation and therefore there are few things that make me happier than Amy Poehler. I am ecstatic to read this memoir and I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy.

5. The Good Lord Bird by James McBride – When this won the National Book Award, it jumped to the top of my TBR, but I haven’t gotten my hands on a copy. I’ve been thinking about buying it for my shelves, but I’ve been on a pretty strict book buying ban for a while. It’s one I want to own, so it will just have to wait!

top ten 8-26 2

6. The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court by Jeffery Toobin – Every time something major happens with the Supreme Court, I have the same thought: I really don’t know enough about how the Supreme Court works. This is less an issue of buying this book or checking it out from the library, so much as finding it in my stacks of books and making it a priority to read! I shouldn’t wait for the next big decision by the Supreme Court to realize my ignorance… yet again.

7. Dangerous Women edited by George R. R. Martin and Gardner Dozois – Two of my very good friends (and trusted reading advisers) have read this and loved it, but I’ve been intimidated by the size of this one to take the plunge of either buying it or checking it out from the library. But I REALLY want to read it. It might be one I have to buy in ebook form!

8. Hawkeye Vol 1.: My Life as a Weapon by Matt Fraction, David Aja and Javier Pulido – Once again another case of library or own? LIBRARY OR OWN??

9. Trillium Vol. 1 by Jeff Lemire – I will read anything and everything Jeff Lemire works on, so I’m very excited for this latest comic collection from him.

10. The Savage Fortress by Sarwat Chadda – Okay, confession: I literally just heard about this book about 2 seconds ago. But just reading the description I know that I really want to read it. Also everything else that Sarwat Chadda has written.

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

  1. Oddly, while I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I actually enjoyed the second book MORE, both on original read and reread leading up to the last book. The last book was amazing. I was not at all disappointed.

    1. I actually think I’m in the minority on the 2nd book here! I’ve heard a lot of people say that they liked the 2nd one much more. I’m happy to hear that the last book is just as good, though.

    1. I know, right??? The Fairfax County library system only has three of his comics. I think I’m going to have to ask them to buy more!

  2. Oh, oh! I can answer one of these! To your Hawkeye question: OWN. DEFINITELY OWN. I promise. It’s so good. OWN.

    I cannot cannot cannot wait for Blue Lily Lily Blue. I think about it, like, maybe more than is healthy. Why is it not October yet???

Leave a Reply

