Food Tour: Where to Eat in NYC

If we have ever spent a significant amount of time together in real life, you know that I like to eat. I like to eat good food, I’m an adventurous eater, I’m excited by a good, inexpensive restaurant and I get grumpy when a meal doesn’t live up to expectations. The hardest thing about leaving New York, other than missing my good friends who still live there, is leaving all that good food behind! The situation isn’t totally dire, there is plenty of excellent food where we are, but it is a little bit harder to find and we have to travel a little bit further to find it.

Since I can’t frequent my favorite NYC restaurants anytime I want anymore, I thought I could at least write about them. Then when you are in NYC for a visit, maybe BEA, you’ll have an idea of where to go for food. Unfortunately, you’re definitely going to have to travel away from the Javits Center! I was super broke for most of the time that I lived in New York, so most of the restaurants have meals for $5-$15 a person.

First Up:

Faicco’s Italian Specialties

102457102_51bc6b9758_z

Borough: Manhattan
Neighborhood: West Village
Address: 260 Bleecker St
New York, NY 10014
Subways that will get you there: BDFM/ACE to West 4th St or the 1 to Christopher St
Fare: Italian, Subs, Butcher

Favorite dish: meatball sub, rice ball
Cons: no seating (go to Washington Square Park and eat your sub!), weird hours (they might just randomly be on vacation when you stop by)

Why It’s A Favorite: I will never live down the fact that Michael once said, “Let’s stop in at this place.” And I said, Nah, let’s keep walking. We lived in New York for a year before we ever went to Faicco’s and that was a wasted year, let me tell you. Faicco’s is a West Village butcher that also sells Italian dry goods, subs/hoagies, and pre-made Italian goodies like rice balls and lasagna you can take home and heat up yourself.

I finally ended up getting Faicco’s because I was homesick for my mom’s lasagna and I googled take out Italian. I ordered one of the meatball subs ($12) and it was like I had driven home to Mom’s. Seriously, this sub is so good and makes me think of Saturdays when my mom would have a huge pot of sauce simmering for hours. It’s the only meatball sub worth eating unless my mom makes it.

Faicco’s other subs are good, but they’re a little bit heavy on the meat. It’s good bang for your buck, but there is such a thing as too much deli meat on your sandwich. If you’re only going to get one sub here, and you don’t have any serious objections to meatballs, then just get the meatball. For real. No matter which sub you get, though, their bread is perfect.

Their rice balls ($1.50, if I’m remembering correctly) are super yummy, but if you’re getting them to go and you want to eat them right away, make sure you ask them to heat them up! Otherwise they expect you’re going to heat them up when you get home. Their fried raviolis aren’t that great, so just get two rice balls instead.

If you are planning to eat other meals the day you eat Faicco’s, maybe split a meatball sub with a friend or put the other half in the fridge. I swear it tastes just as good cold.

Faicco’s Italian Specialties” by Angela Rutherford is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

7 thoughts on “Food Tour: Where to Eat in NYC

  1. NICE. I love this feature. I’m going to visit NYC later in the year, so this will be a good opportunity for me to try out new places. When I was living in NY I hardly ever went out to eat because I was so broke, and I feel like I did not try out restaurants as often as I could have.

  2. We live in a restaurant black hole, so I’m going to love, love, love visiting NYC through your eyes. And I *will* be making a list for my next trip to the city.

  3. We had picnic lunches on our family vacation last week, picking up salads and cheese and crackers and fresh fruits and veggies and eating at parks, which was really fun and inexpensive. We had one low-carb dieter, two gluten-free dieters (celiac), one vegetarian, and one who eats almost no vegetables. (And me!) The two daughters were disappointed to be diagnosed with celiac while living in NYC. On the one hand, there are more options than elsewhere, but on the other hand, there are plenty of great hole in the walls that are out of bounds for gluten-free dining!

Leave a Reply

