Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books People Have Been Telling Me To Read

PicMonkey Collage 1

1. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett – My college roommate listened to these on audiobook this year and she’s been telling me to read them ever since. It’s not that I don’t want to, I’m just intimidated by the size! One day I’ll get to this series.

2. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult – I’ve had so many people recommend this book and various other books by Jodi Picoult, but I’ve heard so many negative things about her books, and I admittedly spoiled this book for myself by googling the big twist ending. Is there anyone out there that wants to convince me otherwise?

3. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot – I feel like every blogger except for me has read this! I bought it for Michael for Christmas a few years ago, thinking I would eventually get to it too, but I haven’t yet. I know, I know. One day!

4. Unbroken by Lauren Hillenbrand – With this movie coming out in December, this book is everywhere. A lot of readers I know have recommended it to me.

5. The Shining by Stephen King – I feel like this is the one book by Stephen King that everyone has read… except for me. In fact, I’ve never seen the movie, and I’m pretty much ignorant of the entire plot, other than hotel, writer, creepy twins. I’m looking forward to reading this for the first time and seeing the movie for the first time. Maybe a good Halloween project this year?

PicMonkey Collage 2

6. The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien – Another one that everyone is shocked I haven’t read, but I tried several times when the movies first came out and I just couldn’t get into them. This summer, though, I picked up my sister’s copy of The Hobbit and suddenly I was interested again. I think my tastes have changed!

7. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – Jojo Moyes seems to be everywhere and I’ve heard nothing but lovely things about her books.

8. All the Neil Gaiman books – Here is a secret: I don’t really like Neil Gaiman books. I haven’t found one I’ve loved, though I’ve certainly tried. I’ve read NeverwhereAmerican GodsCoraline, and Good Omens. I actually liked Good Omens quite a bit, but I’m pretty sure it just means that I like Terry Pratchett. I’m willing to keep trying, though, because everyone seems to like his books so much. I’ve also heard that the audiobook for American Gods is great, so I might try that again followed by Anansi Boys.

9. The Fever by Megan Abbott – I got this audiobook on Audible because there were so many excellent endorsements from bloggers! Plus… that cover!

10. Winger by Andrew Smith – And, finally, this is a book I keep recommending to myself, but never checking it out from the library or buying it. Mostly because the only thing I really like about it is the cover… it’s just so perfect. I keep coming across it online and in stores and reminding myself that I really must read this book one day. Anyone out there read this and loved it?

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books People Have Been Telling Me To Read

  1. Please don’t bother about The Sister’s Keeper and save yourself lots of frustration and boredom! I’ve read 3 Jodi Picoult’s to be forever put off her books. (I don’t know why it took me three, I should’ve known better, but there you go). It’s funny that you admitted not liking Neil Gaiman’s books. Here’s a secret: me too 🙂 (I have tried and will keep trying, but so far I’m just not that much into them…)

  2. I really need to read The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks as well. I own it, just haven’t gotten to it yet. It may go on the top of my read=a=thon pile.

  3. Ok, of those I’ve read all but 7, 9 and 10. The Pillars of the Earth is huge, but I couldn’t put it down to it went really quickly. Immortal Life is fantastic on audio. Sister’s Keeper is meh. Shining was ok, but I think The Green Mile is a way better King book. Unbroken is good, but incredibly depressing (just be in the right mood for it.)

    I adore Gaiman, but he’s not for everyone. You’ve given him a more than fair chance. If you do try another one I would suggest The Graveyard Book. Also, I’d read Anansi Boys on audio BEFORE American Gods, not after. I’ve listened to both and read American Gods first. If you aren’t sure you like him, Anansi Boys is a way better next step.

    1. I agree that Gaiman isn’t for everyone (though I love him!) I would suggest Star Dust as a book to try for one-last-chance. If it isn’t for you that’s OK, there are lots of books in the world so everyone can find ones they like.

  4. Green Mile is on my TBR pile as well but afraid of picking it up because it might make me want to cry. I was in high school when one of my classmates read it to the whole class. And the whole time she was telling the story, I was on the verge of crying. I was such a softie.

    The Hobbit was a decent read and it more bearable compared to the LOTR series. Glad to have read it because I am inlove with the film.

    Charlotte @ Thoughts and Pens

  5. I mean, gosh, if you don’t like three separate Neil Gaiman books, it sounds like you just don’t like Neil Gaiman. That is okay! When people tell you to read him, just tell them that you don’t like Neil Gaiman. You have given it a valiant try, and it just wasn’t meant to be! That is like me and Michael Chabon. I am sorry about it but I’ve accepted it at this point.

  6. Henrietta Lacks book is SO good. I happen to love Gaiman but not Anansi Boys. If you’re giving him one last try may the Sandman series (seriously his very best) or Stardust.

Leave a Reply

