A More Diverse Universe

amdu150

The wonderful Aarti at BookLust has been running A More Diverse Universe every fall for the past two years. In past years, she’s challenged bloggers to read science fiction and fantasy novels by people of color and post about them. The first year, it lead to me reading The Killing Moon and The Shadowed Sun by NK Jemisin. Just reading through this post again made me want to reread the series! They’re wonderful fantasy novels that I highly recommend. Lsat year, I had every intention of participating, but I didn’t quite make the date, but it did make me take a serious look at my reading habits and what I can do to make sure I’m reading more and more books by authors of color.

This year, Aarti is opening up the challenge a little bit. Instead of reading fantasy and science fiction books by an author of color, the task this year is to read and review any book by an author of color during September 14-27th. I also have a goal (that I’m woefully behind on) to read books on my TBR, so I pulled the books that I could reach (there are a few boxes in front of my bookshelves still unfortunately) from my shelves and I came up with a reading list. Here are my pool of titles!

IMG_20140810_201736

 

 

I don’t expect to finish all of these, but I think it’s a good selection that includes nonfiction, fiction, and poetry. Historical fiction and contemporary. A lot of these books are BIG though, so I’m not quite sure how many I’ll get through in the next three weeks, but hopefully I’ll have a few reviews for you during A More Diverse Universe.

If you’re interested in participating, head on over to Aarti’s post to sign up. I can’t wait to read your reviews!

 

7 thoughts on “A More Diverse Universe

  1. I’m super excited that Aarti is hosting this event again, and I’m even more excited that the genre choices have opened up. Heaven knows I have enough choices languishing on my TBR that need some attention.

  2. Hooray! I am so glad you are participating, are participating with so many reading options, and that everyone is happy that the criteria have opened up, so glad you all are participating!

  3. I plan to participate for the first time this year! I’ve got AKATA WITCH, FURY OF THE PHOENIX and KILLER OF ENEMIES on hold at the library in preparation… (and I really do need to eventually read Jemisin! would you recommend one book as a great starting point?)

  4. I love seeing Haruki Murakami and Zadie a Smith on your stack. I haven’t decided what I’ll read quite yet,mbut posts like yours help me define the possibilities a little better. I love reading of other cultures and races; it helps me grow in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

