On repeat this week.

The Family Crest – Beneath the Brine

I discovered the band The Family Crest listening to a radio station and I’m so happy I did because Beneath the Brine has been my go-to album this week. I love the song “Beneath the Brine,” but also “She Knows My Name” and “Love Don’t Go” and “Howl.” Beyond just being a great album, I love the story behind the band of two musicians who wanted something different and something they could be proud of, so they called up all their musician friends that they knew, and all the musician friends they knew and asked everyone to contribute to the album. There are something like 400 musicians who added instrumentation or back up vocals, with recordings done in living rooms, cafes, and churches around the country. You would think that would make the album sound disjointed, but it doesn’t at all. Every song sounds a little bit different, but in the best way.

Kishi Bashi – 151a

Something between Andrew Bird and Final Fantasy/Owen Pallett, with some Sufjan Stevens thrown in there, so you know, those are pretty much magic words to 2008-Lu. This album at once feels fresh and nostalgic, plus he’s from my home town, so I’m excited to support someone local! Like The Family Crest, every song sounds just a little bit different and Kishi Bashi is hard to pin down, hard to define, but that’s how I like it. Unlike The Family Crest, Kishi Bashi is just one guy and I don’t even understand how that’s possible. My favorite song on the album is probably “Wonder Woman, Wonder Me” but I think you’ll all really like “Manchester.” It’s the song that got me hooked on the album. Like Owen Pallett, it’s just so cool to see him in action, layering sounds by himself to make it sound like there’s a huge band behind him when it’s really just him making music on a loop. I’m absurdly excited to see him do this all live in a few weeks!

Stromae – Racine carré

I’m so thankful for tumblr for introducing me to Stromae and his crazy cool videos, but also his infectious songs. Sometimes it feels like it’s so hard to discover awesome international music, Stromae is Belgian and his songs are all in French, and this is a good reminder that I just need to try harder. I’m constantly looking for translations of Stromae’s songs when I listen, because he’s so good at communicating what’s going on in his videos and I feel like he has such interesting things to say. Plus it sounds pretty good, too.

Jamestown Revival – The California EP

“California (Cast Iron Soul)” has lovely lyrics with perfect harmonies and a great sound. And honestly that’s all you really need to know.

The season finale of Once Upon A Time

Okay, I know this isn’t a song. But I just wanted to talk about for a second how incredible I thought the 2-hour season finale was. If you haven’t watched it yet, spoilers below! You’ve been warned!

First – TIME TRAVEL. Have I mentioned how much I love time travel stories? No? Well I do. I really liked X-Men First Class, it got me into the X-Men stories in a way I’ve never cared about, but I’m absurdly excited for Days of Future Past because, obviously, TIME TRAVEL!!! I mean, obviously someone had to go back in time after every character except Zelena pretty much said that it was impossible, but I was so glad it was Hook & Emma. It was light-hearted, even among the changing-the-past drama, which was really needed, especially for Emma’s character. Plus, I’m pretty happy with Hook & Emma hanging out.

I’m also super into Regina & Robin Hood. I’m not a big shipper, I’ve just never gotten seriously invested in a couple, but I like Good Regina (though I sorely miss Evil Regina’s outfits) and I think Robin is just so wonderful, and I like them together. I knew that something horrible was going to happen at the end of this finale and I there is a moment 3/4 of the way through when everyone is happy. Robin & Regina are hanging out, Regina is getting to know Roland. Marian, as in Robin Hood and Maid Marian, is back!  I also had a hard time believing that Robin would have ever forgiven Regina for executing Marian, unless they’re going with he just didn’t know that that’s how she died, but I have a hard time believing that as well. This was my least favorite part of the episode because that just didn’t add up for me. It makes no sense! (Okay, after I wrote this up, I read that Robin DID NOT know that Regina executed Marian. So, all is well for continuity and logic etc.) I am, however, very happy that Roland has his mom back and Robin Hood his first true love. And I am kind of interested to see where this leads Regina, but at the same time… man, I am going to miss Happy Regina. The show runners are promising that this isn’t a return to evil Regina. That she’s grown and we’re going to get to see how she reacts to this as a new person.

Then that ending! I love that Once Upon A Time has so much story to play with. I think it’s interesting that they’re bringing in a character that’s so recent and I cannot wait to see where they go with it.

What’s on repeat for you this week?

15 thoughts on “On repeat this week.

  1. “Andrew Bird and Final Fantasy/Owen Pallett, with some Sufjan Stevens thrown in.” Well, you sold me. Other than Father John Misty and Tune-Yards, I feel like my music is forever stuck in 2008, so I need a little bit of freshness.

    1. I feel the same way sometimes! It’s nice to discover something new once in a while. I’ve been making an effort to really try and find new stuff lately and it’s been great! I’ll try to share more here!

  2. I hipsterishly bought the new Hurray for the Riff Raff album on vinyl, and I’ve been listening to that all week. It’s lovely and summery. I’ve also been enjoying the soundtrack to The Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder.

    1. Oh thank you for the suggestion! Going to download that now!! I have a Google Music subscription and I love that I can try stuff out.

  3. i’m avoid the bottom of the post (spoilers! i’m just on season one!)

    however, i had to comment because i found stromae in exactly the same way – someone on my tumblr feed had a vimeo video of his and then i fell down a rabbit hole of crazy videos and googling around for translations.

    so pleased to see the family crest getting a bit more popular too. ‘the headwinds’ is my favourite of theirs – if they come to your city, you must see them live! they were just in seattle a short while ago and very worth it!

    -selena

    1. I’m so so glad I came across The Family Crest! I only hope they get more attention in the coming months. Thank god for tumblr for discovering new music, right?!

  4. I haven’t heard of any of these bands, so now I need to check them all out! 🙂 I enjoyed the last episode of Once Upon a Time too. I’m rooting for Regina and hope she doesn’t go bad again. She’s pretty kick ass right now. I’m hoping that next season has some new and non-Disney fables. I would love to see Baba Yaga or even the Bearskinner, What about you? Are there any fables you would love to see get some OUaT spotlight?

    1. Would LOVE to see some fables I’ve never heard of make an appearance. It would be such a great way to introduce viewers, who are probably mostly familiar with the Disney canon, to something new. 🙂

  5. Okay, I’m super-duper late with this, but OMG–“Beneath the Brine” is so good! That song belongs in a late 19th century nightclub festooned with green glass lamps and draped in burgundy velvet.

    Also, a resounding yes to all your OUAT thoughts.

Leave a Reply

