What I’ve Been Reading…

I didn’t read too much in April, since I was traveling so much, but I did manage to finish a few books and this week I had a personal little readathon.

books collage

The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead – My sister has been long telling me to read this series, claiming it was one of her favorites, but I was unconvinced. It sounded like a bad mashup of Twilight and Harry Potter. But my little sister reads every book I give her and she gave the first book for Christmas, so of course I read it. And, well, I thought it was just okay. It lingered on my desk for a while, when a coworker picked it up and read it. Then another. They moved onto the second book without me and assured me: it gets really good with the second book. So we started a little Vampire Academy book club, reading all the books in the series over the course of February and March. My sister was right! I’m sorry I ever doubted her. No, these books aren’t the most well-written books in the world, but they’re a ton of fun. The romance is steamy, the vampire lore is different enough to be interesting, and the heroine, Rose, is kick-ass but in a very real way. She can wield a stake with confidence and likes make-up and doing girly things with her best friend and is a little bit cocky and a little bit insecure.

Saga Vol. 2 & 3 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples – This comic series is so good. If you haven’t started reading it please get to a comic store or bookstore and pick it up ASAP! The art is amazing, the story is perfect. I can’t get over how great it is at every turn. Please read!

This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki – I adored Skim when I read it a few years ago and I practically jumped for joy when I got my copy of This One Summer. This comic is lovely about that summer when you’re between the grown-up world and the kid world and how it can all seem so confusing. Do you want to build sand castles? Or talk to boys in the convenience store? It was all so perfectly rendered, I was immediately transported back to my own confusing summers. I loved Rose & Windy and their very flawed parents. Also highly recommended: this piece “Where Are All the Fat Girls in Literature?” by Mariko Tamaki.

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – I’m still not sure how I felt about this book, weeks later, but I think I really liked it. I found it to be occasionally slow, but I liked the narrative structure of it and I think that Jodi Lynn Anderson is a beautiful writer. It was an interesting variation on Peter Pan, but I do think ultimately it’s going to be pretty forgettable.

Various work books – I don’t often blog about my job, but BEA is coming up soon and I decided to try and read all the novels we’re publishing this fall before the show. I don’t sell a ton of fiction in my market segment (we’re more into very specific books, practical how-tos, and gifty impulse books), but I was so in love with the way everything was described at sales conference this year. I have to say, I’ve loved everything I’ve read so far! I have a few more I’d like to read in the next two weeks before BEA, but overall I think this is just a really strong fiction list and I’m eager to see all the wonderful things it does. I’ve read three books from Fall 2014 and one from Spring and none of them have disappointed.

What have you been reading?

8 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading…

  1. I made the (wonderful!) mistake of downloading the first volume of Sweet Tooth this weekend. And then I downloaded the second volume. And now I think I’ll download volume 3 of Saga. Because I NEEEEED to get caught up!

  2. Very good to know that the Vampire Academy books improve as they go along. I read the first one and, like you, was unimpressed with it. But okay! I will give the second one a try now (after maybe skimming back through the first one to refresh my memory).

  3. The cover of THIS ONE SUMMER caught my eye a while ago, and I’ve been meaning to dive into it. Maybe one weekend soon while I’m relaxing poolside.

    As for TIGER LILY, Angie of Angieville convinced me that it was a not-to-be-missed read, so I asked for it for Christmas. My youngest brother bought me a copy, and it’s been sitting patiently on the bookshelf ever since. I have been meaning to make time for it.

    You’ll be at BEA? Me too! What about the Book Blogger Con? I’ve left the finding friends thing quite late this year…

  4. Wow, you read a lot within a week! I really want to read Saga! I know absolutely nothing about it, but I’ve only heard good things. I heard that it was included in a humble indie bundle, but I heard that news two days after it was over… Oh well. I’ve got to get myself a physical copy of this thing.

Leave a Reply

