This past month…

2014-05-03 14.19.04 - Copy

I feel like so many things have happened and I don’t even know where to begin. The days all jumble together until I can’t tell one week apart from the other. I’ve traveled a lot – to Philadelphia, Virginia, North Carolina, Indianapolis. That picture up there is from my plane and that’s Cincinnati. Did you know that the Cincinnati airport is actually in Kentucky? I’ve worked. I made up for only reading one book the entire month of April (to be fair, it was A Feast of Crows) by reading 5 books this weekend (four comics, one novel). I’ve enjoyed good weather and bad. I’ve had wonderful news and horrible news and all the ups and downs that come with it. I’ve learned things about myself and feel like time has passed both too slowly and too quickly. All in all, I’m incredibly grateful that I got to just sit on my couch this weekend.

There have been times this past month when I didn’t miss blogging. A few afternoons when I thought I could give this up, probably. But there have been other days when my fingers have itched to write and I tried to let them write without a purpose, in a journal, in a google doc, and I missed this. What I really missed was you. I have felt a little bereft not knowing what’s going on in your lives. I’ve spent the past few days catching up – I’m sorry if I didn’t comment, but know that I read it and I want to know more! What has happened to you this month? What have you been reading? Tell me everything.

7 thoughts on “This past month…

  1. Wow! You’ve had a ton on your plate. I know what you mean. In those absences, I either don’t miss it or I miss it a lot, and usually by turns. I think feeling the itch to write and connect with the community can be a great refresher sometimes. 🙂

  2. Good heavens! That is A TON of traveling; you must be exhausted! I’ve been reading lots of things this month, but in particular I’ve been falling in love with Daryl Gregory. Raising Stony Mayhall and Afterparty were both such fun, interesting reads. Try him! I am a total evangelist for him now.

  3. You have had a hell of a month! April had its ups and downs for me too. I started job hunting and was turned down for a job since I wasn’t an extrovert. I’m still looking. May is the last month of the homeschooling and I can’t wait to spend the summer working and reading. Right now, I’m trying to read as many diverse reads as possible.

  4. Sheesh, Lu, I’m surprised you ever had a moment to miss blogging! Sounds like quite the hectic month! Was all that traveling for work? I’m sorry there was horrible news, but happy you had good news too. I’ve missed you, and selfishly, hope you never give up blogging. You are always such a ray of sunshine!!! I’m not saying that you’re all Pollyanna or anything, just that you exude kindness and warmth. You’re just a very special lady, dear Lu, so I hope blogging keeps pulling you back. 🙂

  5. Howdy! I finished school last week; pretty sure I got As in my classes and then start to wonder how I much I could slack to get a B cuz I WORKED SO HARD. blah blah blah. And now, trying to figure out what to do with my time – house projects? read? such an odd feeling to decompress. I feel like I’ve been reading a ton but also dismayed that I only have 30 some books read when it feels like so many more – did I miscount. more blah blah blah. So that ‘s what I’m doing.
    And I LOVE gifty impulse books – like pretty blank journal books – are those what you are working with? That friend of mine that you so nicely reached out to for possibly publishing connections found a job in downtown Boston, so that is cool. And…
    Hope you find a balance and enjoy a lovely Spring full of flowers and books and the right amount of downtime. And blogging! 😀

  6. It sounds like you had a busy month travel wise but also in your personal life. I hope you are doing well now. It is lovely to see you back (even though I am late since I am also *away* a lot lately). I agree, when not blogging I sometimes feel I can give it up, but the people and the community? It always makes me want to return..

Leave a Reply

