Quotes & Notes: Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

daughter

 

QUOTES

The real world, already a distant thing – just a crackle of fireworks at horizon’s edge – faded away entirely. A high, sweet thrill sang through Madrigal as if she were a lute string. Akiva took off his gloves and dropped them, and when he touched her, fingertips trailing up her arms and neck, it was with his bare hands. He reached behind her head, untied her mask, and lifted it away. Her vision, which had been narrowed all night to what she could see through its small apertures, opened, and Akiva filled her sight, still wearing his comical mask. She heard his soft exhalation and murmur of “so beautiful,” and she reached up and took off his disguise.

“Hello,” she whispered, as she had when they had come together in the Emberlin and happiness had bloomed in her. That happiness was like a spark to a firework, compared with what filled her now.

NOTES

I am smitten. I read this book on planes and trains and buses and, yes, sometimes this story was enough to distract me from beautiful rolling hills and glorious mountain countrysides. It’s the kind of book that benefits from having no knowledge going into it. All you really need to know is that it’s a magical, tragic story about an artist in Prague with blue hair and mysterious tattoos.

Laini Taylor’s writing style is so evocative and has poetic flourishes that I just devoured. I am sad that it took me this long to read – I kept confusing it with Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo, which I liked, but oh, I loved this one so much more. I’m in awe of Taylor’s imagination and the world she created in Daughter of Smoke & Bone. My heart was Taylor’s puppet: it sang when she wanted it to and broke on command.

I never wanted it to end. I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley, I suppose so they could hook a new reader in advance of the publication of the third book, and I just wanted everyone at Netgalley and Little, Brown to know: your scheme worked. I have already purchased the second book, I’ll be purchasing the first to have in my physical collection, and I’m sure the third will not be far behind.

8 thoughts on “Quotes & Notes: Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. Yay! I too was smitten by this book. I did not love the second one altogether quite as much — only because it had a plot element I’m really, really sick of — but it ultimately won me over by just making ballsy play after ballsy play. The plots in this books are crazy crazy, and I love it. I legit cannot wait for the third one.

  2. I loved this book too! I think that’s partly why I haven’t read the second one yet; I’m so scared it won’t measure up!

    I totally want blue hair because of this book.

  3. I haven’t read this one yet, though it has been sitting patiently on my shelf for… oh, years now! I do value your opinion, and I think I must get to it soon. Because *smitten* sounds like something I’d like to be with a book.

  4. I think I need to read this one now. I really loved Taylor’s short story collection. Her writing is so lush and magical. Nice post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

