2014 Travels

When I graduated from high school, my aunt took me on an amazing trip to Spain. I loved it so much, I ended up studying Spanish in college and going back to live for a month five years later. This year, my sister graduated high school, and my aunt took her on a trip to her destination of choice: Ireland. Of course, I hitched along… because how could I not?? That’s why I kind of dropped off the face of the planet for a few weeks. I was so busy at work preparing to leave, then actually leaving for a week, and now it’s taken me a few days to get sorted out and recover from jet lag. I promise I’ll be back to my regularly scheduled programming soon!

I spent 3 days in Ireland, 2 days in Paris, and 1 day in Geneva, then one day traveling back to Ireland to catch my plane back to the States. Everything was amazing! Dublin is a big city that feels like a small town and the Cliffs of Moher are stunning. Plus, I learned a lot about Irish history and came away wishing I knew more about my ancestors who left Ireland and why. Did you know that Ireland still hasn’t recovered population-wise from the Potato Famine? Paris is just like any other big city, and it feels HUGE, but the sites are out of this world. They don’t even look real most of the time. Also… the food. Can we talk about the food? Everything I ate was impossibly good. In Geneva, I got to visit ATLAS at CERN. Did you know that fewer people have seen ATLAS as have climbed Mount Everest? There’s a good fact for you to pull out at parties. I got to see where all the Higgs Boson magic happens. And it was really cool. Mostly I just spent the week in awe of what the world contains and feeling so lucky that I got to see it.

 

2014-03-20 12.37.52

2014-03-21 08.10.18

2014-03-21 11.20.45

2014-03-22 08.48.13

2014-03-22 12.09.02

 

2014-03-22 13.11.16

 

10 thoughts on “2014 Travels

  1. “Mostly I just spent the week in awe of what the world contains and feeling so lucky that I got to see it.” Travelling often makes me feel that way. Sounds like you had a wonderful time! I’ve yet to make it to Geneva, but I loved Dublin and Paris too.

  2. It sounds like you had a wonderful trip! Your aunt is so generous. Are there stories behind the first picture and the one of the locks? Glad to see you’re back.

  3. I want to be like your Aunt! I actually had dreams of being such an aunt and am already behind on taking my nieces on cool trips. GOOD FOR HER and be sure to tell her that she is awesome, OK? And, I’m so ignorant, I’m not sure what you mean by the Atlas-in-Cern thing so I’m off to go look that up. yikes…
    So happy you had a lovely trip and I enjoyed your photos as you posted. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh, how lovely! I didn’t know that about Atlas at all – how cool (and sad? Atlas seems much more accessible than the top of Everest and also less likely to get polluted and lead to death).

    I am in the midst of my own trip planning! The anticipation is so fun. Thanks for sharing your photos!

  5. Oh Lu, it all sounds sooooo wonderful!!! And I’m so glad you got to go and have these adventures…and then selfishly on my part that you then shared a sliver of your experience with us! πŸ˜€ Your pictures are downright gorgeous, and your appreciation and enthusiasm are simply lovely to feel.

Leave a Reply

