January Wrap Up!

january 2014

Books Read: 

  1. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  2. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
  3. Things I’ve Learned from Dying by David R. Dow
  4. On Such A Full Sea by Chang-Rae Lee
  5. Same Difference by Derek Kirk Kim
  6. The Reconstructionist by Nick Arvin
  7. Tandem by Anna Jarzab
  8. Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls
  9. Someone by Alice McDermott

Favorite: Tie between Someone Things I’ve Learned from Dying. If the entirety of The Goldfinch had been written like the first 250 pages, then it would have been the best book of the year for me probably. But it was too long and I firmly believe needed more editing. What Someone and Things I’ve Learned from Dying  accomplish in around 250 pages each is incredible.

Least Favorite: Tandem by Anna Jarzab

Most thought-provoking: On Such A Full Sea by Chang-Rae Lee

Best concept with a disappointing outcome: The Reconstructionist by Nick Arvin. Coincidentally, The Atlantic published an article about The Reconstructionist and the author, who was actually a reconstructionist for his day job! Who knew! I probably would have if I had read his author bio. The interview is a good read if you’re interested in the topic, but not quite sure if you want to read the book. There are some images of computer simulated car crashes.

Biggest surprise: Someone by Alice McDermott. This was my book club read for the month and I didn’t expect to hate it or anything, but I loved it. Favorite book of the year kind of love.

Most traumatizing: Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls. GOOD GOD. I didn’t know. I just didn’t know.

I did not finish my translation this month, which is okay because I already know that I’m going to be reading at least two for Comics/Graphic Novels February, which is happening right now! It’s the Super Bowl and I don’t have any plans (or any plans to watch it!) so I think I’m going to read comics all day. Yesterday I read Boxers & Saints by Gene Luen Yang which was so so good.

State of the TBR: 

Out the Door: 3 books
Read & Kept: 3 books
Purchased: 2: Seraphina by Rachel Hartman, which I listened to on audio and wanted to own, and Going Clear by Lawrence Wright, which I knew I was going to buy as soon as the paperback was available.

Overall, January was a good reading month. I didn’t love everything, but I think that even the books I didn’t love, I am glad I read them. How was your January?

13 thoughts on “January Wrap Up!

  1. Was this your first time reading Where The Red Fern Grows? I can’t believe you (miraculously!) avoided that experience in school. I have traumatizing memories of my eyes glazing over and tears pouring into my texbook while reading along with the audiobook in school. I’ve been meaning to read Someone, but you’ve officially pushed it up the pile!

  2. What a fabulous post! I enjoyed our reflections on a month of reading. I had a good month; but now you are inspiring to do some reflections similar to what you’ve pulled together here.

  3. You read such a diverse stack of books last month! I haven’t read Where the Red Fern Grows though the cover is embedded in my mind. I might have to agree with you on The Goldfinch. Tartt’s an amazing writer, but I stopped midway through the book and probably won’t finish it anytime soon. My January was okay. I didn’t read a ton of books. I’m hoping to read some fantastic reads with Comics February. I hope February is another good month for you.

  4. It does look like you had a great January. I am really excited about February. I am trying to get through my blogging rounds and update my own blog so I can go read for a bit. haha.

  5. Hmmm. 250 pages? I might have to give this Someone a try. When you first mentioned it over on my blog, I thought it might be one like The Goldfinch, but now that I see it isn’t, I might be willing to give it a shot. I’ll have to look if our library has it. Thanks for the recommendation.

  6. Looks like a great month! I started Going Clear in like November, but haven’t gotten to finishing it. If you start to read it let me know and maybe I can work on it too for an impromptu buddy read. I haven’t done a net TBR calculation yet, but I think it’ll be a small net “In” of books for the month.

  7. Sounds like a darn good month to me! Love your “state of the TBR” stat there–and I’d say you did pretty well for the month, wouldn’t you? I’ve never read Where the Red Fern Grows…I sort of worry that I couldn’t hack it.
    Awww, but now it’s February! It’s February! 😀 😀 😀

  8. Great reading last month! I’ll be keeping an eye out for Someone and Things I’ve Learned from Dying, then, thanks! Proud of you for tackling 6 books from the TBR, that’s quite an accomplishment! Just wondering.. how many do you still have left on the TBR? 🙂

  9. Such a bummer when books are entirely too long. Though I’ve heard many people say that they didn’t get into Goldfinch until the end of the book! I’m still curious to read it but am not looking forward to the 700 pages (or the bajillion e-pages).

  10. I had a group of students who read Red Fern a couple of years ago. They all loved it. I was surprised because so many people equate sad book with bad book, but each one loved it, a few even said it was their all time favorite book.

    However, I’ve neer read it it. I just can’t bring myself to read it.

    1. I don’t think I would have had the same reaction as a kid reading it, honestly. I probably would have liked it or not feel so traumatized by it at the very least.

Leave a Reply

