Quotes & Notes: Tandem by Anna Jarzab

9780385742771

 

QUOTES

“You can see it better with the lights off,” he explained.

It took a second for my eyes to adjust, but when they did I saw it: a river of undulating green light high in the sky. If I needed any more proof that Juliana’s world, the one I saw when I slept, was real, this clinched it.

“I don’t understand,” I breathed. I was captivated by the glow of the aurora borealis, something I’d never imagined I’d see in person. It had always been my favorite part of the dreams. A feeling of calmness and relief flooded my body.

NOTES

One great thing about working in publishing is that people are always passing books around. I received this one from a coworker who wasn’t necessarily interested in reading it, but I have a soft spot for parallel universes. Sasha is a normal teenage girl who lives with her grandfather in a normal town. When her long-time crush asks her to prom, it’s too good to be true. And, of course, it is totally too good to be true. Grant is not Grant, but Thomas, his analog (aka double) from a parallel universe called Aurora. Aurora looks a lot like the US that Sasha remembers, but it has been thrown into political turmoil caused by two rivaling countries in what became the United States on Earth. The princess Juliana, Sasha’s double, has skipped town, unwilling to participate in a political marriage that was orchestrated against her will.

Oh, this book was so fast and so silly, I’m not sure it’s even worth writing a post. I am pretty good at turning off my critical eye for a book like this. I had no expectations for Tandem and I doubt I’ll keep reading the series, but I did enjoy reading the first book. Objectively, though, it’s not a good book and I’m just not sure I’m willing to devote more time to it.

I am interested, though, in reading more about parallel universes? Do you have any recommendations for excellent books about parallel universes and what happens when they collide?

One thought on “Quotes & Notes: Tandem by Anna Jarzab

  1. The series could get better, you never know! I am not sure of any good parallel universes off the top of my head. I must remember to come back and see what recommendations you get!

Leave a Reply

