2013 Reading Stats

I haven’t posted reading stats here in a while and I didn’t do a very good job of keeping track the past few years. Life just got in the way. In 2013, though, I made it a point to keep track of a few things: date finished, page count, publisher, pub date, male/female ratio, where the author was from, and whether or not the book was a translation. I think it is interesting to see how my reading changes over time and how it shifted throughout the year. It’s mostly for me, but I know that I love reading other people’s stats posts. I’m fascinated by what people decide to keep track of. As for my 2013 reading, I’ve talked already about how I only read one translation this year and how I want to make it a priority to read more in 2014, but how did my other stats fair?

Total Books Read: 104. One hundred seems to be my magic number. Sometimes I read a little bit more, sometimes a little bit less, but it is always around 100 books, no matter what I do.

Total Pages: 33,259! I loved how Care pulled out her chunksters (books with more than 450 pages) to see what percentage of this year’s page count was chunksters. I read 14 chunksters, which were a total of 11,477 pages or 34.5% of my total reading for the year.

Age range: 65 books for adults (62.5%), 24 YA (23%), 3 Middle Grade (3%), 1 Children’s (1%) and 11 that were vague crossovers that could have fit into two or three categories (10.5%). I’m pretty happy with this split, though I wouldn’t necessarily mind if there were more YA books next year.

Genre: This is so hard to pin down, I’m almost hesitant to even track it every year. This is, in reality, a combination of form and genre, to make it a little bit easier.

  • 27 comics, 5 of which were nonfiction/memoir (26%)
  • 17 fantasy/science fiction/speculative fiction (16%)
  • 28 general fiction (27%)
  • 7 horror (7%)
  • 18 nonfiction (17%)
  • 3 poetry (3%)
  • 2 historical fiction (2%)
  • 1 romance (1%)
  • 1 book of short stories (1%)

I’m so surprised that the comics number is so high! I did read a lot this year, but I didn’t think it was that many. Once again, I’m happy with this, but I wouldn’t mind if fantasy or horror jumped up a bit. And definitely poetry! I want to read more in 2014. Why did I split out horror from the fantasy/science fiction/speculative fiction category? I don’t know. I just did.

Female vs Male Authors: 54 female (52%), 46 male (44%), 4 both (4%)

Book format: 90 print books (86%), 6 ebooks (6%), 8 audiobooks (8%). This number is more for curiosity’s sake than anything else. I might try to listen to more audiobooks, but I’m not overly concerned with my print vs ebook number. Though I would like to see more of the print books I own heading out the door! I have way too many.

Library books vs my books: 29 library books (28%), 65 books from my shelves (62%), 10 borrowed from other readers and returned (10%). This number LOOKS really good, but I’m pretty sure I acquired just as many as I sent back out the door.

Author nationality: 

  • 75 from USA (72%)
  • 12 from UK (12%)
  • 8 from Canada (8%)
  • 3 from Australia (3%)
  • 2 from New Zealand (2%)
  • 1 each from the Netherlands, Nigeria, and Spain (3%)

The remaining three were essay collections that featured several authors, so I did not track them. This is the number, along with the number of authors who are POC (only 10 books!) and the number of translations (just 1), that I’m most disappointed with and is something I’m seriously going to work on in 2014. I should be reading books from around the world by a variety of people, not just my own familiar corner.

So, I’ve told you about my blogging goals for 2014. Now for the reading goals! Like with the blogging resolutions, it’s all about keeping it simple:

  • Read more books that I own! And stop buying as many as I send out the door!
  • Read more books from around the world, in translation, and by people from a variety of races.
  • Blog about each book I read in some way, but not necessarily a review. I started keeping a book blog to remember the books I read, so even if it is just a monthly wrap up of what I read, I’d like to have some kind of post that at least mentions each book I read in 2014.

And that’s it! If you keep stats about your reading, were there any big gaps you noticed in 2013 that you’d like to fix for 2014?

15 thoughts on “2013 Reading Stats

  1. Naturally, I like your reading goals in that they are simple. The simpler, the better, I think.

    Also I don’t see anything wrong with splitting horror from sci-fi/fantasy/speculative fiction. It seems natural to me.

    1. I guess I didn’t split hairs between fantasy and science fiction and it seems like horror fits under the same general umbrella of books about things that don’t happen no matter how much I wish they did ;).

  2. I love when your stats can surprise you at the end of the year! I am always surprised by how low my non-fiction number is. I feel like I read a lot more non-fiction than I apparently do.

    And great goals for next year! I approve 😉

  3. I was surprised by how few graphic novels I read this year. I think it was under 10 and mostly at the beginning of the year. I still bought all my new ones, but didn’t read them… Need to work on getting caught up. I think I am going to have a graphic novel month in February. Chris (Stuff as Dreams) and Debi (still with nothing of importance) had one last year and are having one again this year, so I am sneaking myself in. And, poetry… I still don’t read poetry. One year it will click for me…

    1. I participated in comics february last year too, which is probably part of the reason why my number is so high this year. It’s definitely high on my list of things to do this year, so I had better start figuring out which ones I want to read!

  4. I want to be better about blogging about every book I read in some way, too. I mean to!! But then, you know, life. Bah. I also want to read more classics…it was a big hole for me in 2013. Good for you for letting go of the print! I keep trying.

    1. Me too – I barely read any classics and I definitely want to read more this year, but I don’t have many in my pile and I also want to read translations, so I think that might be a 2015 goal.

  5. I was also very disappointed with my translations this year (zero!) and want to work on it in 2014 – maybe joining a challenge wold help. Do you know of any that’s about translations? Also want to read more in the original language, in Portuguese, French and Spanish.

    1. I don’t know of any challenges specifically, but I’d be happy to do a readalong or a buddy read of a book in translation if you are interested! I used to be able to read in Spanish, but I think I’d have a hard time of it now.

  6. One thing I didn’t keep track of last year was author nationality (thought I’m going to start this year) and I imagine it would be fairly similar to yours. I’m really hoping to shift things around a little and have more non-US authors if possible.

    1. This was the first year I really kept track of it and I’m glad I did, because it helps to see that number so small! Fortunately, I have quite a few books on my shelves from other countries, so I’ll be able to kill two birds with one stone.

    1. I log everything on GoodReads anyway, mostly because I like the visuals and I like to see everything at a glance, so I just check the page number for the print version there and add it to the spreadsheet.

  7. These are such interesting stats. Thank you for sharing. I use GoodReads to track my reading (I always end up a bit under my goals for the year) but I never thought of using that information to compile stats and try to see my reading habits over time. Maybe thats something I should do for 2014!

Leave a Reply

