Nonfiction November Week 4 – New Additions to My TBR

final version 3

In a lot of ways, Nonfiction November was a very selfish endeavor for me. Sure, I wanted to read nonfiction this month and I wanted some folks to join in, but mostly, I found, I really  wanted to find out what nonfiction you were reading. And you delivered! My nonfiction TBR, once manageable (a single shelf!) has quadrupled in size and probably deserves it’s own Excel document to keep track of. Some of the books, though, that I am most excited to read are listed below.

Cold: Adventures in the World’s Frozen Places by Bill Streever – I can’t even quite explain to you why I want to read this book, but I do. Ana’s short commentary on this one in her Nonfiction November post and her review made excellent points as to why I should want to read this, but so did all of her suggestions. There’s just something about this I keep turning back to.

The Story of Charlotte’s Web: EB White’s Eccentric Life in Nature and the Birth of an American Classic by Michael Sims – I truthfully never gave much thought about EB White before reading bookmammal’s recommendation this past week. Apparently EB White did a massive amount of research to make sure all the tiny details about the characters in Charlotte’s Web was accurate and this is fascinating to me. I must read more!

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls  – My friend at work has been telling me to read this for forever, and Andi reminded me that I really do need to get a copy of this for my own. Fun story: one time, I waited in line to see Tim O’Brien for like 2 hours (worth it) and Jeanette Walls’s line was next to mine. So I got to see her! In person! But that’s the whole story, so I’m not sure it’s really a good one.

The Juggler’s Children by Carolyn Abraham – This book just sounds so good! Tanya at 52 Books or Bust said what originally drew her to the title was the fact that the publisher described it as a cross between The Man Who Mistook His Wife for A Hat by Oliver Sacks and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.

Perv: The Sexual Deviant in All of Us by Jesse Bering – Perv was already on my radar, but I just wasn’t quite sure. Thankfully all I needed to ensure that I read this is a recommendation from Melissa at The Feminist Texican Reads. This book sounds absolutely fascinating and like it covers topics that are entertaining and interesting, but doesn’t shy away from the more difficult topics either.

Thank you all again for participating in Nonfiction November! I have such a great month and I just cannot believe it is almost over! Just a reminder: this week is hosted by Kim, so head on over to Sophisticated Dorkiness to leave your links!

 

3 thoughts on “Nonfiction November Week 4 – New Additions to My TBR

  1. I really hope you like The Juggler’s Children. It’s been getting a lot of recognition up in Canada. The rest of the books you’ve added to your list either look great or are great. Now i just have to find the time to put my list together.

  2. The Glass Castle is really good! I thought her second book, Half Broke Horses, was great too! Thanks or hosting this! Even if I didn’t get a chance to post on every topic, I love participating a little bit and adding lots of nonfiction to my TBR list!

Leave a Reply

