Nonfiction November: Book Pairings!

final version 3Phew, what  week! I was in Kentucky this past weekend for business and I expected to have plenty of time on Sunday once I got back to do this post, but I ended up asleep in bed all afternoon. I came down with a cold that finally seems to be wrapping up, thankfully, because I have a lot of things to get done! Thanksgiving is next week! I have projects at work! And, obviously, Nonfiction November!

I knew that this week was going to be tough, but so far there have been some fabulous suggestions. I can’t wait to go through and link up to all of them later this week.

Coming next week, you’ll see a post about my reading of Parasite Rex by Carl Zimmer along with Aarti – when I was tweeting about my creepy reading month and picking up Parasite by Mira Grant there was some confusion about which book I was talking about. Aarti mentioned having the former on her shelves for years and I thought it would be fun to read Parasite Rex so soon after reading Parasite. So a buddy readalong was born!

And so far that is the best example I can come up with of books I’ve read, but it felt a little bit like cheating! After all, I haven’t quite finished Parasite Rex and For this post, I decided to take a look at a few fiction books I really enjoyed and pair them up with nonfiction books I would like to read.

One of my surprise favorite reads of the past year was definitely The Hallowed Ones by Laura Bickle (who I got to meet at the Kentucky Book Fair this weekend!). It is a book about an Amish girl who lives in a world that becomes overrun by vampires. It’s terrifying and is a story that uses religion in such an interesting way. It made me very curious about the Amish religion in general and while my dad has lived around the Amish in Pennsylvania and I’ve met a few practicing Amish, I don’t really know a lot about the religion. It doesn’t seem like there are actually a lot of books about the Amish, but I did find one I’d like to read: Growing Up Amish by Ira Wagler. It’s a memoir from a man who was born in the Amish community, but ultimately decided to live an English life.

I am sure that The Hallowed Ones is based in some truth, I know that Bickle did a lot of research, but it is still a fantasy novel. I’d really like to know more about what the community is actually like. So on the TBR it goes!

This was actually a very difficult challenge!! I thought I would have a lot more options, but I had a hard time. I’m so impressed with all the amazing pairings you guys put out there.

3 thoughts on “Nonfiction November: Book Pairings!

  1. Another great novel with an Amish theme is “Plain Truth” by Jodi Picoult–it’s a very well written murder mystery/courtroom drama, and the author did extensive research to get the details about the Amish culture just right.

    This month has been so much fun–thanks for hosting!

Leave a Reply

