Nonfiction November Week 2 – Become the Expert

farming tbrOn Monday, I talked about food and farming nonfiction and the three books that started the bug. All three got me thinking about what it means to grow food, whether it’s for your family, your immediate community, or the larger world. But I know there’s more out there! Here are the books that are on my farming nonfiction TBR!

This Life is In Your Hands: One Dream, Sixty Acres, and a Family Undone by Melissa Coleman – In the same way The Blueberry Years did not sugarcoat the small organic farm lifestyle, it sounds this is an important memoir about what it is like to grow up on a homestead.

The Bucolic Plague: How Two Manhattanites Became Gentleman Farmers by Josh Kilmer-Purcell – Excuse me? Michael Perry meets David Sedaris? Sign me up.

Coop: A Family, A Farm, and the Pursuit of One Good Egg by Michael Perry – Speaking of Michael Perry…. Also, if nothing else, I desperately want chickens.

Fair Food: Growing a Healthy, Sustainable Food System for All by Oran B. Hesterman – Tomatoland exposed what is wrong with the tomato industry while offering a short chapter on what is being done to change it and what needs to be done. I think Fair Food will expand on the topic.

Kitchen Literacy: How We Lost Knowledge of Where Food Comes From and Why We Need to Get it Back by Ann Vileisis – I think this title explains enough about why I am interested in this book! It is definitely more on the food side of the equation than the farming, but I imagine that farming plays a big role in it.

A Farm Dies Once A Year by Arlo Crawford – Part memoir, part examination of a local crime. This book sounds so good – but we all have to wait five more months to read it!

And now it is my time to Ask the Expert! Have you read any farming/food memoirs or nonfiction that you think I should add to my TBR? Let me know!

Don’t forget to include your Nonfiction November posts for week 2, whether they are reviews, answers to this week’s prompt, or other musing’s on nonfiction, in this week’s linky at Sophisticated Dorkiness!

10 thoughts on “Nonfiction November Week 2 – Become the Expert

  1. Lu, check out Turn Here Sweet Corn by Atina Diffley. Diffley is a local farmer who for years worked with the Gardens of Eagan, kind of a pioneering organic farm here in MN. Her book is really interesting, both about the emotional attachment to land as well as the battles of organic vs. non-organic farmers, and the science behind farming. Personally, I’m thankful for her work, because she mentored a young woman who’s gone on to become an organic farmer herself, and I’ve been getting my CSA shares from her for 7 years now. 🙂

      1. Enjoy! And when you get to the part about the young farmer named Laura in a too-tight skirt and who cuts her own hair, know that she’s my farmer. 🙂

  2. The Bucolic Plague sounds great! I’ve heard of the Beekman Boys but haven’t read their writing yet.

    In the same vein of Manhattanites as farmers, I read “Eat the City” by Robin Shulman earlier this year and really enjoyed it. Each chapter is dedicated to the history of a particular food in NYC (honey, wine, vegetables, fish, etc), and how pockets of the city are trying to get back to the land in the middle of the metropolis.

  3. Another great list. This is one of my favorite topics, too. I think you’re going to love Kitchen Literacy — I made a mind map of it for my review: http://www.joyweesemoll.com/2013/02/08/book-review-kitchen-literacy-by-ann-vileisis/

    Some other suggestions:

    Food Fight by Daniel Imhoff about the 2012 Farm Bill (still not passed!): http://www.joyweesemoll.com/2012/07/07/book-review-food-fight-by-daniel-imhoff/

    The Good Food Revolution by Will Allen about the urban food movement: http://www.joyweesemoll.com/2012/09/15/book-review-the-good-food-revolution-by-will-allen/

    American Grown: The Story of the White House Kitchen Garden and Gardens Across America by Michelle Obama: http://www.joyweesemoll.com/2012/10/20/book-review-american-grown-and-sweet-potato-yeast-bread-weekend-cooking/

Leave a Reply

