Nonfiction November – Week 1 in Review!

final version 3Well, the end of week 1 of Nonfiction November is here and let me just say – my TBR list is getting longer and longer and longer. My library queue and my bank account do not thank you. But the reader in me? I can’t wait to get to reading. We had a great turnout this week and I’m hoping to see even more folks participating next week. Don’t forget – if you join in any of the weeks you’re eligible to win one of two prize packs that Kim and I are picking out ourselves!

So what are your favorite nonfiction books?

Masanobu at All the Pretty Books told us about her three favorite topics to read about: Spanish grammar (hey! me too!), nonfiction books about books, history (especially WWII), women, and biology. Head over to her blog to see which of the nonfiction books she read were her favorite in those categories. I love that she included some that are in Spanish!

Joy at Joy’s Book Blog gave us her nonfiction favorite of 2013: Julia Child Rules: Lessons on Savoring Life by Karen Karbo. You should head over to her blog to learn more about this new-to-me series, which sounds totally awesome.

Hillary at ahorseandacarrot, a big nonfiction reader, picked two history books as her favorite nonfiction reads of all time. I understand where she is coming from: sometimes you just don’t know why a book is your favorite. Sometimes they stick with you and you just can’t explain why. Head on over to ahorseandacarrot to see which books Hillary puts at the top of her list.

Tanya at 52 books or bust reads a lot more fiction than nonfiction, so she chose three narrative nonfiction books that will appeal to the fiction reader in all of us! She included one I really enjoyed, Brain On Fire by Susan Cahalan, so I’m adding the others to my TBR as we speak.

Sophie at Paper Breathers says at the end of her post that she’s excited to start reading some different types of nonfiction, since all of her favorites seemed to touch on ethics. Check out which books join The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot on Sophie’s top list of her three favorite nonfiction books.

Melissa at Avid Reader’s Musings has an amazing comprehensive list organized by category. She also includes my current nonfiction read: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt. I’m so impressed by all the amazing nonfiction Melissa has read!

Andi at Estella’s Revenge includes one of my very favorite nonfiction comics: Relish: My Life in the Kitchen  by Lucy Knisley. It’s just so charming and perfect in every way. What else did she say is a favorite of hers? You’ll have to pop on over to Estella’s Revenge to find out!

Monika at A Lovely Bookshelf on the Wall loves memoirs, so head on over to see which of the memoirs she’s read in 2013 ended up on her list of favorites. I’m also excited to see she’s included some nonfiction for children, like I Came From Water by Vanita Oelschlager.

Shannon at River City Reading has a stunning blog and an awesome duo of nonfiction favorites, including one of my personal favorites – Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed. I love Strayed so much, I included her in the button!

Julz at JulzReads has a long list of her nonfiction favorites. The one that caught my eye is The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary. How cool does that sound?

Nupur at One Hot Stove gave us a top ten of her nonfiction reads in the comments section of this week’s post. It’s full of classics, recent bestsellers, and so many interesting choices. Including a cookbook of sorts I have sitting on my shelf: Make the Bread, Buy the Butter by Jennifer Reese.

Stacy at Stacyverb has just an awesome list. These are all books I’ve been meaning to read forever!! Of the one’s I’ve read, Love is a Mix Tape is definitely one of my favorites, but also one of the saddest books I’ve read. I’ve also been meaning to read On Writing by Stephen King! If these two books are any indication, though, everyone should be adding Stacy’s picks to the top of their TBR! She’s got good taste.

Care at Care’s Online Book Club chose to talk about her favorite nonfiction author: Tracy Kidder. He sounds amazing! You really must go read about Care’s recommendations.

Finally, your two hosts. Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness took the one title approach and told us about her favorite nonfiction read: The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down by Anne Fadiman and I just couldn’t pick one, so I listed 10 of my favorite nonfiction reads. It’s a list I already want to edit after seeing some of the amazing titles you chose!

Remember, next week’s theme is Be the Expert or Ask the Expert or Become the Expert: 

Be the Expert: Is there a particular topic you have read a lot of books about? Share that with us so we can all become well-read in your favorite topic!

Ask the ExpertIs there a topic you want to know more about but you aren’t sure where to start? Ask us and hopefully we’ll have good answers for you in the comments sections. Maybe someone can take on your question in a second Nonfiction November post later in the week.

Become the Expert: Do you have a subject that dominates your TBR? What books would you read to become an expert in the topic of your choice?

Pick one, or two, or all three options for next week’s Nonfiction November. Remember – Kim is hosting the linky and the roundup post next week, so head on over to Sophisticated Dorkiness to share your link.

I hope you had a great first week of Nonfiction November. I know I did!

13 thoughts on “Nonfiction November – Week 1 in Review!

  1. Thanks for the link-up, Lu! I didn’t have Internet over the weekend, but now I’m excited to read through everyone else’s favorite nonfiction reads. Next week’s prompt looks fun too – I’m loving Nonfiction November so far! 🙂

  2. […] Nonfiction November is off to an amazing start! My co-host, Leslie at Regular Rumination, posted a wrap-up with 13 different posts about favorite nonfiction. I can feel my TBR growing already. I’ll have the next discussion topic up tomorrow, so stop […]

  3. You are so kind to link to me although I only left a comment! I’m off to check out all the rest of the posts. And will hopefully post my “expert” list later today.

  4. Snatched a few good recommendations from this post. Thank you very much. My best recommendation for non-fiction this year would go to What’s Next? http://whatsnextthebook.com/
    I’ve read it twice over already and I’ll probably read through it again at some point. There is just so much to take away from that book with each read and it leaves you feeling so inspired and driven. I love a book that can do that.

Leave a Reply

