Nonfiction November – Week 1

final version 3

I like nonfiction books that make me think about the world in a new way, that expose or explain something that enlightens and educates me. I also like nonfiction books that tell a story that I think I know well in a way that makes me realize, maybe I don’t know it at all. They should be well-written, and if applicable, well researched. Memoirs don’t have to be written by people who have only lived extraordinary lives, as long as you can tell your story well, I want to read it. Here are the nonfiction books that have done those things, in no particular order.

  1. Losing My Mind: An Intimate Look at Life with Alzheimer’s by Thomas DeBaggio
  2. Tomatoland: How Modern Industrial Agriculture Destroyed Our Most Alluring Fruit by Barry Estabrook
  3. Trip of the Tongue: Cross Country Travels in Search of America’s Languages by Elizabeth Little
  4. The Blueberry Years: A Memoir of Farm & Family by Jim Minick
  5. The Filter Bubble: What the Internet Is Hiding From You by Eli Pariser
  6. Musicophilia by Oliver Sacks
  7. Blankets by Craig Thompson
  8. Safe Area Gorazde: The War in Eastern Bosnia by Joe Sacco
  9. Columbine by Dave Cullen
  10. People Who Eat Darkness by Richard Lloyd Parry

So tell me, which nonfiction books have you read and loved? Help my ever-growing TBR continue to grow! Share your links below.

17 thoughts on “Nonfiction November – Week 1

  1. “I also like nonfiction books that tell a story that I think I know well in a way that makes me realize, maybe I don’t know it at all.”<–Wow, how true that was of Columbine for me! I have a hard time making any set kind of favorites list, but I think Columbine would definitely appear on mine if I made a non-fiction faves one. So would And the Band Played On, Bad Science, and We Wish to Inform You that Tomorrow We Will Be Killed with Our Families. Probably Helter Skelter too. I've only read two of the ones on your list, but I know a few of the others are on my wish list thanks to your reviews. 🙂

  2. I’ve added my list, but it is more tentative than definitive. I’m not a great nonfiction reader, but I’m definitely trying to change that. Thank you for hosting!

  3. Great list!

    Thanks for hosting — I’m really looking forward to this month and getting to meet other nonfiction readers.

  4. I just read Heat, by Bill Buford and enjoyed it a lot! I also loved 1491 by Charles C. Mann. AND, of course, I haven’t forgotten that we have Parasite Rex on our list to read, too!

  5. Thanks- I added several books to my TBR pile.

    My 10 favorite non-fiction books (ranging from science to food to memoirs):

    1. Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud
    2. Make the Bread, Buy the Butter by Jennifer Reese
    3. Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster by Jon Krakauer
    4. Zeitoun by Dave Eggers
    5. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
    6. Open by Andre Agassi
    7. My Life in France by Julia Child
    8. Hungry Planet by Peter Menzel
    9. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
    10. An Anthropologist on Mars by Oliver Sacks

  6. I’m always forgetting Blankets is non-fiction, yet it was what made me first put it on my list. I loved Lisa See’s On Gold Mountain, though I read it a few years ago. And I really enjoyed Robin Shulman’s Eat The City and Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma.

  7. I’ve only read one of your list! And what a mix you have. I really need to finally get to Columbine. I’m afraid of it, though. I admit it.
    Trip of the Tongue looks fun.

  8. I haven’t read any of those and haven’t heard of most of them!! Eeep. I love non-fiction but haven’t been reading a ton of it lately–mostly because book club books eat up much of my reading. I did recently listen to Stiff (Mary Roach) and it was fascinating. I think it’s time for a good memoir, though.

Leave a Reply

