8. New Projects

If you have been following this blog for any length of time, you know that I’m addicted to starting things. Projects that get me excited about blogging again, about cooking again, about reading. It all just depends on what I’m “missing.”  Well, I’m about to start something new! And I’m telling all of you so I actually have to commit to it. Today, I finally got in the mail my copy of Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan.

9780688146573

 

I have never been much of a baker, but I do really enjoy baking my own bread. I’d like to learn more, so I’ve been looking through blogs and finding new recipes. While doing that, I came across Tuesdays with Dorie on a few of the blogs I was checking out. Essentially, this is a group of bloggers who are working their way through every recipe in a book by Dorie Greenspan. They’ve already finished one and they have been working on this one since February of last year. Obviously, the project is well underway, but I thought it would be a good way to make myself bake if I had someone telling me what to bake, when. I’m actually really excited for the recipe for next Tuesday and I can’t wait to share photos! I’m not promising I will get to this for every scheduled Tuesday, but it seems like a really great place to learn how to bake. Some of the recipes seem a little bit challenging, so I know that I’m kind of diving in here. I expect lots of failures! Hopefully they are the kind of failures that still taste good and also teach me something.

5 thoughts on “8. New Projects

  1. This is such a good idea! I love the idea of a group of people all baking the same thing and comparing notes. I don’t own the book and am not sure I want to blog about my experiences, but I will definately follow your progress and maybe join in one day. Good luck!

  2. No no no Lu!!! Why’d you have to post about this?? LOL….now I totally want to do this too :p Though I know I’d fail miserably if I committed myself so I won’t. But I’m super excited about following your progress. Maybe seeing you do this will give me the motivation too!

  3. Oh, awesome! You should link your results over at Weekend Cooking (at Beth Fish Reads’ blog! it goes up on Saturdays but day of the week doesn’t matter), and then everyone else who is on this reading-and-cooking gig will come over and be impressed by your progress. I do it whenever I remember to take photos of my food – it’s super encouraging!

Leave a Reply

