4. Fall questionnaires!

Amy from My Friend Amy (lovely, wonderful Amy!) understands my love of Fall. Just look at this Fall survey she posted! I had to fill it out as soon as I read it.

1) What’s the first thing that makes you feel like summer is over and fall has arrived?

Probably the first day I wear a scarf and feel the crunch of leaves when I walk to work. Both things have already happened! Even though this week is really warm.

2) What’s your favorite fall fragrance or flavor?

Can I make a confession? I think it’s so silly that there are people out there who actively hate on pumpkin-flavored things. I understand that companies everywhere have jumped on this bandwagon, but excuse me, it seems like such a useless thing to hate on. Oh, wow, you love pumpkin things. HOW TRENDY. Anyway, now that I’ve got that off my chest, I really like spicy teas and, yes, pumpkin flavored coffee, but also all the smells of comfort food cooking in the kitchen.

3) Favorite fall goodie?

Day after Halloween candy. Pecan pie.

4) Do have any fun fallish outings or traditions? (i.e. apple picking, looking at leaves etc.) If not is there something you’ve always wanted to do?

New York has some really great festivals this time of year. One of my favorites is the Queens County Farm Museum fall festival, which THANK GOD I DID THIS SURVEY, AMY because it’s this Sunday. I guess my weekend plans are made. I love this festival every year because it is actually just a huge farm in the middle of Queens and I love things that make me forget I’m in the middle of a city. They have some really cute sheep there. And alpacas.

Proof:

2012-10-07 11.43.58

Another favorite festival is the Oyster Festival in Oyster Bay, Long Island. Last year was beyond perfect weather – I don’t know how we’re going to top it.

5) Football or Baseball postseason?

I have a nostalgic kind of affection for football season, so I guess that one? All I know is the Superbowl is in New York this year. And it’s the same weekend as the International Gift Show. I will file this away under “Things You Learn Working in Publishing.”

6) Halloween or Thanksgiving?

You really aren’t going to make me choose between the two best eating holidays of the year right?

7) What’s your favorite spooky monster? 

Ghosts! Definitely ghosts. But not like terrifying, murderous ghosts. Ghosts of the unfinished business variety are good. So are poltergeists, even the scary ones. Candy Man and Bloody Mary need not apply.

8) Do you have a favorite quote about fall from a book or movie?

Why, yes! Yes I do!

That’s the way we New Yorkers feel about fall. Come September, despite the waning hours, despite the leaves succumbing to the weight of gray autumnal rains, there is a certain relief to having the long days of summer behind us; and there’s a paradoxical sense of rejuvenation in the air. […] Somehow, despite the coming winter, autumn in New York promises an effervescent romance which makes one look to the Manhattan skyline with fresh eyes and feel: It’s good to live it again.
from Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

Also, this quote I saw floating around on tumblr. I then promptly bought the book, so I hope it is as good as this quote!

That old September feeling, left over from school days, of summer passing, vacation nearly done, obligations gathering, books and football in the air… Another fall, another turned page: there was something of jubilee in that annual autumnal beginning, as if last year’s mistakes had been wiped clean by summer.
from Angle of Repose  by Wallace Stagner

9) If you could go anywhere for a weekend trip during the season where would it be?

Michael and I are going to try and go to Maine, because we have never been, so Maine!  To see the pretty leaves and eat lobsters and drink cider.

10) Describe your ideal fall day.

The window is open and there is a chill in the air, but the sun is shining, so your spot on the bed/couch/floor is warm. You curl up with a perfectly spooky read, a cup of tea, and a blanket. You don’t really need the blanket. It just feels nice and it’s not too hot with it on. The sky is blue through the window and you can see a tree with changing leaves. Maybe after reading for a while, you go for a walk and enjoy the wind and the fluffy clouds. Later there is pecan pie and a cider and a stew. Not necessarily in that order, though fine if so. In the evening, when the sun has set, you continue to read until falling asleep.

 

3 thoughts on “4. Fall questionnaires!

  1. Gah. Oh how I love this post!!!! I want to steal your perfect fall day, except that I might make it just a bit more chilly than you–I like to “need” my blankets. 😛

  2. *hugs this post* I’ve been so out of the loop and didn’t know that Amy did this! I’m totally going to go post this myself once I finish catching up on blogs as much as I can 🙂

  3. aw I love all your answers!!

    and lol I totally agree about the pumpkin thing and I buy up all the stuff!

    so jealous you get to be in New York for the fall!

Leave a Reply

