Bout of Books 8.0 Goals!

image

Today is the first day of the Bout of Books 8.0, which is a readathon that goes from Today at 12:01AM all the way through Sunday. Everyone sets their own goals. As they say on their introductory post, the only “competition” is between you and the amount of books you normally read. When Kim said recently that she was going to participate by challenging herself to give up television for the week and to read during that time instead, I thought that might be a good idea for me too. I need a little less screen time myself.

My challenge will be twofold. I want to knock off a few books from my shelves and to get my book club book read. I usually read for 2 hours on the subway every morning, but I want to spend the rest of my evening time, that’s not spent on dinner or hanging out with Michael, only on reading. I typically read 1-3 books a week, so my goal for this week will be 5. I already finished one this afternoon: I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. The other five I read will come from this pile:

image

1. A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
2. The Thorn and the Blossom by Theodora Goss
3. Sleep, Pale Sister by Joannne Harris
4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
5. Nothing by Blake Butler
6. Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

Something Wicked is this month’s book club pick, so even if I don’t get to it this week, I’ll be rereading it next. It’s one of my favorites, so I’m excited to revisit it. I’m not planning on doing much reading this weekend, since I’ll be visiting my mom to celebrate her birthday, but we’ll also probably do a lot of lounging in the pool, so there will definitely be some reading. My only goal is to read when normally I would be watching TV and reading Tumblr. We’ll see how it goes!

(I’m uploading this from my tablet, so I apologize in advance if any of the formatting is a little wonky!)

8 thoughts on “Bout of Books 8.0 Goals!

  1. I’m curious about Nothing — I’ve heard good things! So far today I’ve followed the no television rule and it wasn’t that hard. I’m pretty confident it’ll be no problem once Night Film arrives from UPS tomorrow and I want to spend all my time with that book. I hope you have a great reading week!

  2. A Visit from the Goon Squad is fantastic — hope you enjoy it! Your other books look interesting too. Good luck with the read-a-thon!

  3. Not wonky as far as I could see! I agree that it seems tough to get things to work from my iPad to upload to a blog post…

    Anyway, I wish I could say that I loved the Bradbury Something Wicked but it just wasn’t for me. I’m glad you love it and that you don’t mind re-reading it. All I could think was yay-at least it is short.

    September keeping you busy? Me, too! New job and starting school for teacher certification! crazy me. But it’s better than being bored. Not that I really have a concept of boredom, ever, right!?

Leave a Reply

