Things I Have Loved Recently

For a few reasons, the past month has been one that has felt like a roller coaster. Good things happen and then bad and in between, a whole lot of smooth and steady. I blog mostly on the weekends, so being out of town a lot makes it difficult, but I’m trying to be more organized. (When am I not trying to be more organized?) I thought I might tell you about a few things that I have loved recently, things that are making my days brighter and better, just because they exist. We all need a few of those, right?

Music

Concerts – I am going to see The xx in September. I am not sure I have listened to any other band or musician as much as The xx in the past few years. I think they are perfect and I haven’t been this excited for a show in a long time. I’ve heard they are amazing live.

Songs – “The Mother We Share” by CHVRCHES, “Pompeii” by Bastille, “Lightning Bolt” and “Note To Self” by Jake Bugg, “Believer” by American Authors, “Breezeblocks” by Alt J, “Faithful Heights” by NIght Beds, “Synesthesia” by Andrew MacMahon

Albums – Modern Vampires of the City by Vampire Weekend

Movies

So, a few years ago, Michael and I were looking for something to do. How to Train Your Dragon was playing at our local $1 movie theater, so we took my little sister, thinking it would be a fun afternoon. Except I’m pretty sure I loved the movie more than my sister did. I’ve seen it a few times since then and every time I love it even more. It’s funny and beautifully drawn and heartwarming. Anyway, the trailer for How to Train Your Dragon 2 was released this week and I just keep watching it again and again. It’s everything I hoped it would be and more. Just so perfect!

ParaNorman – Did you tell me to watch this? Because if you did, I’m so sorry I ignored you. You haven’t seen ParaNorman yet? What are you waiting for?! I have a predisposition to love ghost stories, and awesome sidekicks who steal the show, and siblings, and autumn, and John Goodman, but honestly. If you like any of those things, or just a few of them, ParaNorman is on Netflix Instant and you are missing out by not watching this.

Television

Gravity Falls – After I watched ParaNorman and stalked the tumblr tags, I noticed a lot of comparisons to Gravity Falls. Michael and I have watched a few episodes now and it is hilarious. Mabel is the 12-year-old I wish I was. See all of the above things that I love (except for John Goodman) and you also have Gravity Falls.

I’m definitely missing the shows that I watched during the winter, especially Supernatural and Nashville. I also finished my first watch of Buffy and Game of Thrones S2, so I don’t really have a show that I’m watching whenever I have a spare 50 minutes. Do you have any suggestions? I prefer something that is available on Netflix Instant or Hulu+!

Books

Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo – I listened to this on audio and I loved it. I can’t wait to read the sequel! It always feels so good to get completely lost in a fantasy world that you buy into entirely and that’s how I felt about Shadow & Bone.

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater – One of my favorite listens this year was The Raven Boys and this book was my most-coveted galley at BEA. Thanks to the amazing Memory, I was able to get a copy. I’m reading it now and it is living up to everything, though I certainly miss having Will Patton read it to me. I will be downloading the audiobook as soon as it is available.

Tumblr

It’s true, I’ve been neglecting most other corners of the internet for tumblr, and I’ve been thinking a lot about why. I suppose there might be a whole post in here, but tumblr gives me a space to just love things. I do not need to comment on it, though I can if I want to. It’s just a space that is full of the things I love. Lately, that’s been exactly what I need. I don’t think it could ever sustain me as my only way of blogging or staying connected, it’s too specific for that, but as a tool to share the things I love and discover new things (like Gravity Falls, for example!), it’s just what the doctor ordered.

What have you loved lately?

9 thoughts on “Things I Have Loved Recently

  1. Oh, I’m sooo with you on the new Vampires of the Weekend album. Along with The Queens of the Stones Age album, …Like Clockwork, I can’t stop playing it over and over. Both have been my “virutual turntable” constantly for the past month.

    As if we needed yet another show to watch, last night my wife and I started watching Suits. We didn’t know anything about it, but the first episode was very good. It might be worth trying out, if you’re interested in something new.

  2. So happy to hear about Shadow and Bone!! I haven’t listened to the audio, but I’ve read the print version three times. Brilliant book.

  3. Regarding Pompeii by Bastille, which is a fantastic ear-worm, my favourite version of it is the one they did at the British Museum’s ‘Pompeii’ exhibition, which is really cool and can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27DelLooE1o

    Now that Game of Thrones series 3 has alas round up, the show I’m really loving at the moment is the current series of Castle. Musically the new Wonder Years record has my attention the most, and it may be a love that grows. Bookishly the Alligators of Abraham by Robert Kloss is the most different, craziest, freshest thing I’ve read in years, and I’ve fallen for it head over heels.

  4. I love How to Train Your Dragon, too. And Tangled. And we’ve been revisiting Finding Nemo (Elle’s favorite) and Monster’s Inc. (my favorite). We started to watch Monsters in Paris when Elle was sick a few weeks ago and I loved it…but she got restless at the last 20 minutes and I haven’t been back to finish it. Funny how beautiful and smart those “kid” movies can be. 😉

    Love Xxs and I’ve been enjoying Vampire Weekend’s new album, too, even if it does feel like a bit of a departure from their prior stuff. I went through a phase a few weeks ago where I listened to The Great Gatsby soundtrack a bajillion times on repeat but I haven’t listened to it since.

    Hope you’re doing well. xo

  5. I thought I responded earlier, but to summarize :): I really liked the new Vampire Weekend album too and I recommended (and still recommend) Suits. My wife and I started watching it last night and we’re only up to the third episode, but like it very much. I think it’s on Hulu Plus. We’re watching it on Amazon Instant.

  6. You’re seeing The XX???? I’m so jealous!!!!! I want The XX to come here T_T And I’m with you on CHVRCHES. I love them so much!! I can’t wait for their album finally in September!

    I love Paranorman too 🙂 That movie can always make me smile!

    As for TV, I just started Orange is the New Black which is Netflix’s new original series last night and the first episode is DAMN GOOD! It’s only 13 episodes but looks promising! I thought they did a good job with their adaptation of Hemlock Grove too. I really loved the book…I just could’ve done without one rape scene that they added into the series :/ Have you watched Brothers and Sisters? If not, it’s on netflix and you have to get on that shit NOW! Probably my favorite show ever and totally didn’t expect that. My other show that I loved and didn’t expect to even like in the least bit was Desperate Housewives. If it gives you any motivation to watch the series, Danny Elfman did the theme song for it :p

    I hope there’s much more good and much less bad in the future for you my dear Lu 🙂

  7. Yay, I’m so glad the Maggie Stiefvater book is good!

    Regarding TV, I recently fell in love with ORPHAN BLACK. It’s probably too soon to get that on Netflix, but if you see it, go for it. It’s nice and short at ten episodes (with more to come in S2), so it makes a good break between longer series. I watched it right after SPN.

    ANGEL is also great, if I remember correctly and you didn’t watch it alongside BtVS. It’s got more of a noir feel, with lots of weird humour. (Angel spends most of one episode as a puppet.) There are some dodgy elements to it and I’m not invested in as many of the characters as I was with Buffy, but it’s mostly excellent with the notable exception of S4. I do not like S4.

    Oh, and I just finished watching the third season of COMMUNITY, and I highly recommend the show if you feel like something funny. It’s a sitcom (sans laugh track), so each episode is only 22 minutes long and thus can easily fit into those spots where you want to watch some TV but you don’t want it to occupy a whole lot of your time.

    Moving away from TV (because if I don’t, I’ll leave you the longest comment ever), that’s exactly why I’ve gravitated to Tumblr lately. It’s a place to love stuff, sometimes without comment, in the presence of lots of other people who also love stuff. Plus the pictures move, which is fun.

  8. I’ve been watching a lot of TV too, lately. Especially the first two seasons of The Walking Dead. It’s hard to say no once you get hooked in.

Leave a Reply

