Saturday Farmer’s Market – 6/15

saturdayfarmersmarketGood afternoon! I’m sorry that I sort of disappeared there for a while. It’s been an up and down couple of weeks. Now, though, it’s one of my favorite days of the week: Saturday Farmer’s Market, hosted by Chris, created by Heather. I hope if you are buying or growing or admiring anything from a garden today that you’ll share!

Today, I finally got to spend some time in the garden, cleaning out some old pots and starting a few of our last plantings for this part of the summer. We might plant one or two more things before June is over, but mostly we’re sitting tight until early August when we can plant our late summer/fall plants. Now, I know you’re just here for the pictures, so let’s stop all this talking! I apologize in advance for just how many gigantic pictures there are. I couldn’t decide which ones to post and, believe me, there were more! I promise I’ll share next week!

2013-06-15 16.56.48

The green plants in the back are cosmos that should be blooming soon. They have little buds and I can’t wait to see what they look like. In front we have more celosia! I just love how big they get and the pop of fuzzy color they add.

It started to turn brown in some places, so I picked off the brown bits and it bunched up again. Onto tomatoes! We are having good and bad luck with our tomatoes. Remember the patio tomato we bought as a back up since our home started ones weren’t doing so well? Well, the roles have reversed!

2013-06-15 16.57.46

I’m not sure you can tell, but a lot of the leaves are dried up and it’s just not looking great. I moved its location on the patio to see if that will help. Our other tomatoes look great and even have some flowers! We’ve had a ton of rain, way too much actually, so one tomato seems to be drenched. His leaves are turning yellow, but we’re not supposed to get rain for the rest of the week, so I’m hoping that they perk back up once he’s had some time to dry out. The rest of the plant still looks healthy, so I’m not too worried. Look, see? It has flowers!!

2013-06-15 16.58.35

I think the development I’m most excited about after these two weeks is this:

2013-06-15 16.59.23THAT is a wee little pepper poking out! I have NO idea what kind of pepper this is going to be, so no matter what, it’s going to be a surprise. I can’t wait to see, though.

2013-06-15 16.58.01

The lettuce is definitely ready to eat. Probably tomorrow. I’m thinking BLTs.

That’s pretty much everything that’s going on for veggies. We planted some beans and cucumbers, but there’s not a whole lot to look at.

2013-06-15 17.00.03

The gnome has a new home, though:

2013-06-15 16.59.56He was living in the swiss chard bucket, but we harvested the chard early this week and made a lasagna!

2013-06-10 19.11.27

Now I’ll leave you with some pictures of flowers around the balcony:

2013-06-15 16.56.52Alyssum.

2013-06-15 16.57.11

2013-06-15 17.01.14

2013-06-15 17.01.28

2013-06-15 17.00.14

2013-06-15 16.58.08The nasturtium, a victim of way too much rain and getting knocked over. I added more soil though and picked off the dead/dying flowers and leaves, so I think she’ll make it!

2013-06-15 17.01.54

Have a lovely week! I can’t wait to show you how everything has grown next Saturday.

8 thoughts on “Saturday Farmer’s Market – 6/15

    1. I’m surprised how much we’ve been able to grow in such a small space, too. I think next year we’ll be able to do an even better job managing the tiny space since we know what we can do with it. I’m glad you like what we’ve done!

  1. Your enthusiasm fills me with so much joy Lu 😀 I’m so loving watching you grow your garden this year!!!! It all looks so fantastic! That lettuce is GORGEOUS! I can never grow lettuce here for some reason 😦 I just never have luck. It’s too hot I think. It goes from being tiny to bolting. Yours looks beautiful and lush and green! Can’t wait to see what color cosmos you have 😀 They’re some of my favorite flowers!

Leave a Reply

