My Last Readathon Hour!

this is what happy looks like

Well, folks, I think this is good night for me. I’ve been reading since 8 this morning and that’s a lot of uninterrupted reading time. I read over 800 pages, 400 of which belonged to Clash Of Kings and 400 of which were from this lovely book called This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith. It’s an absolutely perfect book for the readathon. Quick and funny and charming. I don’t think I can recommend it enough for something like this! I’m sleepy, but I’m not exhausted. I might read a bit more tonight, but I don’t think I’m going to be finishing any more books.

This cover and this title are just fitting for today. This is what happy looks like! Sitting on a couch, reading all day, forgetting about responsibilities and stresses, if only for a little while. Sharing some time with someone I love. I’ve just had so much fun today. I ate yummy snacks, I read good books, I lounged on the couch, I spent some time with Michael (who had a studython today), and I talked to all of you wonderful friends on Twitter and Tumblr and Instagram.

Can I just say how amazing all the organizers for the Readathon are? I have helped out a few readathons and I know how difficult it is! I did not know Dewey. I started blogging in December 2008, but I feel like she’s always been such a huge presence. I have found myself thinking over the years: if only I had started blogging earlier. So many of the bloggers I love loved her, and I wish I had had the chance to know her. I know how much Dewey means to so many of us and even though I didn’t know her, I think she’d be proud of the Readathon that we have all continued in her honor. The book blogging community can seem like a huge and fractured place these days. But the Readathons are the two days out of the year when we stop and remember why we do this day in and day out: because we share this common love, this common passion. So thank you for sharing that with me. I love you for it.

9 thoughts on “My Last Readathon Hour!

  1. I love that book cover. I started out with Eleanor and Park this morning, which was great for the readathon, but I’ve been getting into heavier books progressively, which wasn’t a great idea. Congrats on all the reading and good night!

  2. This Readathon has been so well organized, I am really impressed with how smoothly it has all gone. You’re right that Dewey’s heart would be warmed by all the people who have pulled together to make this happen year after year.

    Enjoy the end of your Readathon day. Sounds like you got a ton read!

  3. I’m so glad you read along today Lu 😀 It really has been so much fun!!!! And I’m thinking I NEED to get This is What Happy Looks Like and yes you’ll be blamed for it :p

Leave a Reply

