Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

ttt

It’s a rewind week for Top Ten Tuesday and I thought this would be a good topic after my discussion on Sunday’s post. I’m trying not to do this anymore. I want to read books as soon as I buy them or just put them on a wish list. But here are the books that have been lingering a little bit too long.

1. The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss – I bought this immediately after reading The Name of the Wind, which I really enjoyed. To be fair, I’m trying to savor this series. I don’t want to have to wait too long for the third book, which has no confirmed release date.

2. The Thorn and the Blossom by Theodora Goss – I think Ana’s review of this one was the one that made me purchase this one and I’m not exactly sure why I haven’t read it yet. Other than the fact that it seems too beautiful and delicate to carry with me on the subway.

3. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente  – Truthfully, I’ve started this book a dozen times and every time I try to read it just comes across as so precious. I know that all of you have read it and loved it – could you please convince me?

4. Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson – This has such an interesting premise and got such great buzz. I bought it after reading the dedicated Maximum Shelf from Shelf Awareness about it. No reason I haven’t read it yet, other than it’s a hardcover and the subway ride is long.

5. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot – So I actually bought this one for Michael, but I knew that after he read it, I wanted to too. Still sitting on my shelf.

6. The Language Instinct by Stephen Pinker – I tried to give myself a nudge to read this one back in January but it didn’t happen. I know Sara was even thinking about reading it with me. Did you finish this one, Sara?

7 & 8. The Art of Losing and Dear Darkness by Kevin Young – I bought this anthology and poetry collection by Kevin Young right after reading The Best American Poetry of 2011, which was also edited by Kevin Young. I’ve been awful about reading poetry this year, so I really just need to get my act together and read these two.

0. The Wordy Shipmates by Sarah Vowell – So, as you know, I needed to own this so bad that I bought it twice!

10. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness and illustrated by Siobhan Dowd – I keep meaning to read this one, but I know how sad it is and that’s been putting me off. I’m sure I’ll need a sad book one of these days, but not right now.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

  1. If it makes you feel better, The Thorn and the Blossom is a really quick read. You can easily read it in an hour. Henrietta Lacks was sitting on my shelf for so long unread, that I finally just gave it away. 🙂 I can always pick up a copy from the library.

  2. A Monster Calls is a quick read too and it’s only sad towards the end … but then it’s a lot sad 😦 I do hope you get to these books though – some I plan to read too, and others I know are fascinating, like The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

  3. If I had found a copy of the Goss I’d probably be like you, too, because I wouldn’t mind reading it but doubt I’d have got to it yet. It’s far too easy to have books you wanted but not yet read.

  4. The Wise Man’s Fear and A Monster Calls – I can understand why you want to wait with either, but both are some of the best books I’ve read in the past year. So… no pressure!

  5. Read Henrietta. It’s so good. And I absolutely adore Valente, but too precious is a good descriptor of that book. I didn’t like it. Read her Orphan’s Tales instead. Also that Vowell book is my least favorite of hers so maybe some of your procrastinations are fo good reason.

  6. Oh, man, I so feel this. I have three big stacks of books on my bedroom floor right now that fall into this category — I’m trying to read them all and dispose of them so I can quit feeling guilty about them. :p

Leave a Reply

