Wrapping Up Graphic Novels February, Hello to March Food & Gardening!

Thanks to Debi, I spent February reading a lot of comics. You see, Debi is picking a theme for each month of reading and I liked the plan so much that I’m joining her. I know that Chris and Heather are reading, too. February was such a success, that I’m going to be participating in March’s theme, too, but more on that later.

Here are the comics I read in February:

  1. Hicksville by Dylan Horrocks
  2. Blue by Pat Grant
  3. Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks
  4. Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  5. Dotter of Her Father’s Eyes by Mary Talbot and Bryan Talbot
  6. The Secret of the Stone Frog by David Nytra
  7. The Silence of Our Friends by Mark Long, Jim Deomakos, & Nate Powell
  8. Locke & Key Vol 1 by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez
  9. The Underwater Welder by Jeff Lemire
  10. A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle and Hope Larson
  11. Blacksad by Juan Diaz Canals and Juanjo Guarnido (finished in March)

I also read these other books:

  1. January First by Michael Schofield
  2. The Raven Boys  by Maggie Stiefvater
  3. One & The Same by Abigail Pogrebin
  4. Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

So of all the comics I read, which ones do I wholeheartedly recommend? Well, certainly Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks, Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples, The Underwater Welder by Jeff Lemire, and Blacksad by Juan Diaz Canales and Juanjo Guarnido, which I just finished today and adored.

It was one of the best reading months I’ve had in a long time! As you can see, I did still read quite a few non-graphic novels during the month and I’d really like to start balancing out my reading a bit more. This has been a great year for me and non-fiction, and now comics, and I’d like to keep it that way.

Speaking of non-fiction, March is all about reading about nature and gardening. Michael and I are doing our first balcony garden this year and we’ve already started planting our seeds in starters in the apartment. We’re going to try and grow broccoli, hot peppers, tomatoes, and a lot of herbs. I also got a strawberry kit that goes in your windowsill. I have high hopes for all of them!

All of that is to say that I’m very interested in this month’s theme, too, so I’m going to keep on reading with Debi, Chris, and Heather! Here’s my list for this month:

march reading

 

  1. The Blueberry Years by Jim Minick
  2. Animal Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
  3. Second Nature: A Gardener’s Education by Michael Pollan
  4. The Quarter-Acre Farm by Spring Warren

I have been meaning to read Animal Vegetable Miracle for a long time and I found the rest of these books by browsing the “books like” Animal Vegetable Miracle category on a few different sites. All but the Pollan will be available for me on Monday, so I’m excited to dig in (pun intended).

Thank you again, Debi, for coming up with such awesome themes and getting me to read things that normally would have taken a back burner! 2013 is already turning into one of my best reading years.

6 thoughts on “Wrapping Up Graphic Novels February, Hello to March Food & Gardening!

  1. The Quarter-Acre Farm is new to me, but it looks right up my alley. Going to see more about it now! Thanks, and happy gardening!

  2. It’s always nice when you have a great reading month. It leaves you in a good mood. Saga is such an amazing book! I would join you guys this month but there’s so much that I need to get read. Happy reading.

  3. So, I’ve actually checked out Friends With Boys from the library twice and returned it unread both times. I’m almost embarrassed to check it out again… but clearly I should.

    The only one of your food books I recognize is AVM, which is weird since I love foodie books. I’m excited to hear what you think.

  4. I hope you know how much more fun I had in February with you and Chris than I ever would have had alone!!! And I can’t wait to hear about Blacksad–never heard of that one before.

    I’ve also never heard of The Blueberry Years or The Quarter-Acre Farm, but they both sound awesome! Any idea how happy I am to be sharing another month of themed reading with you? Very Happy! 😀

    Can’t wait to pics of your balcony garden! It will be just a few weeks before I start our little seedlings…always such a happy time!

  5. January through March are usually filled with a bunch of gardening books so I can deny its winter. This year, I’ve only managed Elizabeth and her German Garden which I really didn’t like. Meh.

  6. What a good idea! I don’t usually read by theme, but I’ll have to remember this idea the next time I’m in a slump. I should try more graphic novels…

Leave a Reply

