January 26 – Oh, my God! It’s January 26!

I’m not exactly sure how six days passed between my bookshelf post and this post, but do know that I was working on blog posts, just not ones that I wanted to publish immediately. I wanted them to sit. And that feels in the spirit of this project, so I am moving on. And I promise to never ever promise to write every day, because all I do is apologize a lot.

Until next month when I promise to write a review of a comic a day!

So, I thought I’d catch you up on what I’ve been doing this week.

1) I went to the Macy’s on 34th St. Holy crap that place is big. I asked a friend to go with me and she said, “No, that place is huge and people walk slow.” And I pffed a little bit and said suuuuuure, but yes, it is huge and people walk really slow. It’s bright and overwhelming, but also kind of pretty to look at. I don’t know that I would want to spend more than an hour there, which is what I did, but I looked for some shoes, picked something up for Michael, and went on home. If you’re ever at the Macy’s on 34th St and you need something to eat, Koreatown is literally right around the corner and there are some great, cheap Korean places that you should check out.

2) I want flat black slouchy ankle boots, but they aren’t in style anymore. I have looked everywhere. It used to be that you couldn’t go into a shoe store without seeing a dozen pairs of the same black slouchy flat boot, but apparently they aren’t in style anymore. If I had known this would happen, I would have bought a dozen pair. I had a pair and wore them out, then I bought another, but they are pretty much unwearable at this point too. I found a pair from Target that are somewhat similar, but they have a heel and they are fake leather. So, hopefully they work. I have to walk a mile to work (in the snow! uphill both ways!) and about half the time I have to stand on the subway for 40 minutes. So my shoes have to be comfortable and work appropriate, because I am the laziest and I don’t like walking to work in one pair of shoes and wearing another pair once I get there. This is why I wore my snow boots around the office every day this week. It was cold.

3) I read Game of ThronesI have been slowly plugging through this. I like reading long books, but I have to take breaks and read other books, which makes it go even slower. I just like to feel accomplished. I really like Game of Thrones and I am excited to start watching the show. I think I’ll be done before January is over at which point I’ll start reading comics!

4) I picked up a lot of comics at the library and I have more coming in on Monday! Ah! I’m so excited about this. I don’t know if I am going to be able to wait until February to start reading. I’ve started picking my way through Hark! A Vagrant, which is much larger than I thought it would be. I’m also ridiculously excited about Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples.

5) I discovered that I’m really interested in neo-noir as a genre. I’ve always known that I enjoyed it, but while I was writing up my review for The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters (coming on Monday!), I realized just how much I want to go deeper into the genre. Anything that even has the tiniest of noir sensibilities is something that I am immediately drawn to. I mean, I grew up watching Who Framed Roger Rabbit – the genre has been part of my cultural landscape since I was a kid. This idea of a hardboiled detective, with his femme fatale, his cynicism and shady city streets has been familiar to me all along. An idea for a project is forming. I want to know more about the genre, I want to know more about the origins of the genre. I have to come up with a more detailed plan, but I want to be a noir expert.

6) I have one audiobook credit before I cancel my Audible membership. Suggestions??? I am horribly indecisive when it comes to this thing.

12 thoughts on “January 26 – Oh, my God! It’s January 26!

  1. I’ve heard that the audiobook version of Maggie Steifvater’s The Scorpio Races is amazing. I can attest to the book being amazing, but I’ve read several glowing reviews of the audiobook as well.

    1. For some reason I was convinced that this recommendation was for The Raven Boys and that’s the book I bought! Ha! I’ll keep The Scorpio Races in mind for the next time I have a credit!

  2. Is that not always the way with shoes? I recently went on a hunt for black ankle boots with a two-inch Cuban heel in a price point that I want. I ended up finding what I wanted at K-Mart (for ten bucks woo!), but it took, like, five months to find it. Yeesh. Perhaps you could check out thrift stores/consignment stores, especially if you have an average shoe size? You might get lucky!

    1. The pair from Target were similar enough. Actually they’re a combination of my two favorite pair of shoes, and I can live with that. A lot of them are on clearance right now because they’re trying to get rid of them, I guess. I love finding surprises at places like K-Mart! Glad you found your shoes! I actually have pretty large feet and it can be hard at thrift shops. I wear a 9, 9.5, 10, depending on the shoe.

  3. You should go to Heather’s (Raging Bibliomania) site for audiobook suggestions though I did love Baratunde Thurston’s hilarious narration of How To Be Black. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Saga. It’s such a good book. Have you read/or you going to review Y: The Last Man also by Vaughan?

    1. I haven’t read Y: The Last Man yet! Though it’s been on my TBR for a long time and I might get to it this month. I have had How to Be Black on my radar for a while and audio might be the way to go if you say it is hilarious!!

Leave a Reply

