January 16 – Things I did today

  • Cupcakes and sangria part two
  • Read most of Just One Day by Gayle Forman. Went from liking it to feeling so-so about it to loving it.
  • I went to Elmhurst to get dinner at a dumpling place and then stopped by a banh mi place to get sandwiches. Half a sandwich & half a dumpling order for dinner and the rest for lunch tomorrow.
  • Everyone in Elmhurst (read: there was a group at each restaurant) was playing board games! I am jealous. I want to play board games at a dumpling restaurant. Will someone invite me to play board games at a dumpling restaurant?
  • FUNNY STORY. One time, Michael, two of our friends, and I went to play Settlers of Catan at a bar in our hometown, because it was a weeknight and that’s what we do. It also happened to be the bar’s Irish night and there was a woman singing traditional Irish bar songs and also a group of people from Ireland. My last name is the Irish-est and when they came over to introduce themselves, they asked me if I wanted to join their society. “Because,” pointed glance at Michael, “we chaperone dates.”
  • Anyway, I also watched last week’s Once Upon A Time, which ugh. I hate watching this every week. I want to watch it all at once because I can’t handle the cliffhangers and there was a very good one this week.
  • I read the extremely bizarre Manti Te’o story. It’s one of the weirdest things I’ve ever read and it’s happening in real life, not a novel I’m reading. What a strange world we live in.
  • I put way too many comics on reserve at the library for Debi’s month of comic reading: Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks, Hark! A Vagrant by Kate Beaton, Saga by Brian K. Vaughn, and Building Stories by Chris Ware.
  • Looking back at that list, it’s really not way too many. So I put on a lot more: Sailor Twain: Or The Mermaid in the Hudson by Mark Siegel, Everything We Miss by Luke Pearson, Blue by Pat Grant, Blacksad by Juan Diaz Canales, The Secret of the Stone Frog by David Nytra.
  • That’s going to be a long subway ride home when all those books come in.
  • How is it midnight? I’m going to bed now.
6 thoughts on “January 16 – Things I did today

  1. I also want to play board games at a dumplings restaurant. Husband and I need to do a Saturday in the city sometime soon and this needs to on the list of things to do!

    Also, glad you have gotten to the point of loving Just One Day. I think it shows a first year of college journey incredibly well. And it makes me want to go to Europe even more!

  2. Oh my God, Once Upon a Time. Last Sunday just tore my heart out and next Sunday promises more of what I like to call the Monster Mash universe, which I am deeply in love with. (Also, I really like David Anders.) We should have spoilery talks.

  3. I need to watch Once upon a Time. The first season at least, on Netflix.

    Also, does it seem even remotely possible that Te’o didn’t know that the girl didn’t exist? I can’t decide! At first I thought yes, and then I thought about it some more and thought no, and now I seriously have no idea.

    1. Yes, you must watch Once Upon A Time! I started on Netflix with season one and caught up. I think you would like it a lot. I wasn’t terribly impressed with the first episode, but now I’m hooked.

Leave a Reply

