January 15 – Blog about someone else’s blog

There are a lot of things running through my head lately, but one of them recently was how much I miss being in school. I miss a lot of things about school and learning (NOT homework), but the thing I miss most is taking a topic and becoming something of an “expert” on it. Obviously not a real expert, but more knowledgeable than your average person because you’ve read dozens of articles and several books on the topic.

College made me this type of expert on the beat generation, the Virgin of Guadalupe, and environmental poetry in Latin America. I learned about psycholinguistics and the History of the Spanish Language and phonology. And I miss it.

So when Debi blogged about her year of themed reading, it immediately reminded me of this hyper focus that you get when you take a class in something. I absolutely love the idea of focusing all your reading energy into one goal for a short amount of time. The possibilities are endless! You can focus on an author and read their entire oeuvre. You could focus on a topic and get a lot of different opinions about it. You could focus on a genre or a theme or a time period. Endless.

I don’t know if I’m ready for a year of themed reading, but I’d like to take at least two months this year to focus on something that I want to know more about, whether it’s a time period in literature (I’m thinking 1920s-30s) or a specific author or linguistics. I’m going to think about this for a bit, but for now I’m going to cheer Debi on. Thank you for the wonderful idea!

(The more I think about it, though, the more I think I might have to join in Graphic Novels Month in February. Yes, Debi it does sound absolutely heavenly!)

11 thoughts on “January 15 – Blog about someone else’s blog

  1. That is a really awesome idea! I miss the same things about college that you do. I am kind of doing something similar, but not in just one topic, I am trying to read more nonfiction in general because there is so much great stuff out there.

    I might focus it a little more after reading this post! I think I will read WWII and later US history for a few months as my nonfiction books! I

    1. I think I might do film noir as my focus this time around. Maybe I’ll spend all of March reading books and watching film noir!

  2. A very cool idea! I’m definitely in support of Graphic Novel month and Go Back and Finish It month. I keep telling myself I’m going to spend more time reading the books I already own, but then shiny new books arrive that need me…

  3. a cool theme for the year could be Proust, if you are interested in literature: 2013 is the 100th anniversary of the publication of Swann’s Way, so some readers are tackling In Search of Lost Time for this year. you can even read it scheduled for every week of 2013, with great weekly discussion: http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/75460-2013-the-year-of-reading-proust
    for something more general, I have a fun reading challenge for any book connected one way or another with France: http://wordsandpeace.com/2012/11/15/books-on-france-2013-reading-challenge/

  4. You know, as much as I complain about homeschooling (though I hope people know my complaining is really half-hearted), that is one of the things I love about it. The chance for me and whichever kiddo to just focus on something and really dig deeper than I likely would otherwise. Annie got fascinated with the Civil War, so we just ran with it and spent nearly an year of history on that when she was in 5th(?) grade. And one time, we just got off on a Zimbabwe jag–I loved it. Anyway, I can’t wait to see what you decide to focus on!!! And YES–I so hope you do decide to read graphic novels in February!!!! 😀 😀 😀

    1. Homeschooling sounds so amazing whenever you talk about it. I know it’s not always easy, but it does sound like you’ve really found the best way to educate your kids and you have a great time doing it too, even if it can be stressful sometimes!

Leave a Reply

