January 11 – Have a perfect night out

It’s raining and miserable, but my friend and his boyfriend are in town, so we went out to meet them for dinner. After some hemming and hawing about where we would go, I finally thought of a perfect idea. They’re both vegetarians and Michael and I are not, so we needed something that would be good for all four of us. There’s this little place by my office that serves gluten free Italian food, mostly risotto, and it’s delicious.

One of my goals this month is to try a lot of new restaurants, but another one is to re-experience great meals I’ve had before. I’ve always enjoyed this risotto restaurant, but this time, my risotto was perfect. I had a shrimp risotto, with spicy peppers and arugula. It was so good: creamy and delicious, just a little bit spicy, and the shrimp was cooked perfectly. Other risottos that were had: pork shoulder and parsley, goat cheese and parsley, and feta, red peppers, and spinach. Everyone was satisfied with their risottos and we left content, but with a bit of a sweet tooth. Some more thinking about where to go in the rain, when Michael suggested that we go to the cupcake and wine bar around the corner.

That’s right, I said cupcakesย and wine. They do specific alcohol and cupcake pairings, but we didn’t have one of their pairings. Instead, we shared a carafe of sangria (yum!) and each got a different cupcake. I can’t speak for how any of the other cupcakes tasted, because we hoarded all our cupcakes close. No bites were shared. I had an almond cupcake with strawberry frosting and it was delicious.

We made plans to meet up again tomorrow to go to a museum and maybe see a show (two more things on my happy-list), but tonight, despite the rain and the cold, was perfect. The food was great and the company was wonderful. Tomorrow is sure to be even better, because there, hopefully, won’t be any rain. It was a perfect start to the weekend!

6 thoughts on “January 11 – Have a perfect night out

    1. Risotto is delicious! Though it can be a little annoying to cook because you have to keep stirring, but it’s not very hard as long as you use a nonstick pot.

  1. What a lovely post! I have a recipe for grape/wine and mushroom risotto that is quite yummy if you want it ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also didn’t want to go out last night but did to meet some female co-workers for a wine and cheese and charcuterie night, and it was a lot of fun! I’m very glad i went ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I’m glad you went too! It’s nice to get out with people, sometimes even when you don’t feel like it. I would love a recipe for grape/wine and mushroom risotto!!

  2. Wow, that really does sound like the perfect night out! Cupcakes and wine still sounds a bit odd to me though, but I’m going to take your word for that it really is a good combo. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

