January 3 – Give up Diet Coke

I’m posting this as late as I can and still have it be considered 1/3but it’s okay because it will be a quick one. This January, I’ve decided to give up Diet Coke. Don’t worry, there will be some fun things in my month of doing things, but these are the easy ones to post about. The rest, I want to have pictures of me doing fun things. Plus, let’s get all these resolution-y things out of the way when I’m feeling motivated and excited about all that new-year-new-me stuff.

So, Diet Coke and I have had a good long friendship. We broke up for a while a year and a half ago and I was happy with that decision, but when I started working in an office, I started suffering from that 3PM crash. I fell back into the whole afternoon Diet Coke thing. As my friend said, as vices go, Diet Coke isn’t the worst I could do, but I know that I feel better when I don’t crave it. I don’t want to feel like I need it and I do.

I’ve gone two days now without any Diet Coke and I’m feeling pretty smug about that. So, yay! Month of doing things (or, in this case, not doing things) is so far, going pretty well.

8 thoughts on “January 3 – Give up Diet Coke

  1. You are a much stronger person than me :p I can NOT go without my daily caffeine, lol…sadly mine DOES have calories, lol. It’s either regular coke or coffee.

  2. I’m in a weird situation when it comes to caffeine—I’m a super-taster, which means that tastes are particularly potent for me, so caffeine definitely has a taste for me; sharp and bitter. So I was always a Sprite girl moreso than a Coke girl.

    Anyway, best of luck with giving up Diet Coke. As a non-soda drinker, I usually try and go for a walk when my energy is lagging; now, with the cold weather, it ought to be quite bracing! 🙂

  3. 30 days is a much more manageable amount of time than trying to stick with something for a whole year! I came to that conclusion as I contemplated how o would challenge myself this year. I’ve decided I’m going to walk outdoors for an hour everyday in January. The, I’ll reassess at the end of the month how I’m going to challenge myself in February. Good luck with the mid-aft lull in energy. I used to have a chocolate bar habit at the same time of day. Those little Mandarin oranges got me through the worst of it.

  4. I’ve never had a soda addiction but a few people that I know do, and I can certainly understand the appeal. Fortunately, Diet Coke tastes like chemicals to me (Coke Zero tastes delicious but I try not to remember that). Good luck! I recommend Good Earth non-caffeinated iced tea. It is delicious without sweetener — extra bonus!

  5. My husband and daughter both have Diet Coke addictions…luckily for me, I’ve always found it disgusting. And since there’s too many calories in regular soda, I’m pretty good at avoiding it. But that doesn’t stop me from drinking waaaaaaay more coffee and tea than I should. Good luck, Lu!!! I’m really enjoying these posts! 😀

  6. I’m giving up alcohol for the month, but I don’t think I could possibly give up coffee (I don’t drink Diet Coke, but this is my equivalent). Good luck to you!

    I also love the idea of posting every day, but I don’t think I’ve got that kind of motivation. Or organization!

  7. If you stick with it then you’ll never go back. I used to drink 6 (yes SIX) cokes a day when I was in college and now I rarely ever drink a soft drink. It’s tough getting off it, though! Good luck…

    1. I’m doing well! For me the biggest help is seltzer. I do love the fizziness of soda, so this helps me not miss coke too much.

Leave a Reply

