January 2 – Write 500 words every day

Right now, as you read this, I’m driving up the east coast back home from my Christmas vacation. This vacation felt like a whirlwind and I’m disappointed that it’s over. I could use another day of reading by the Christmas tree in my pajamas. Of course, since I’m going to spend 8 hours today in the car, I’m not entirely sure I’m going to complete this goal today, but it’s an important one.

I keep saying to myself that I want to write. I want to be able to call myself a writer. Without some consistent writing, though, I don’t feel like I deserve that label. 500 words is a manageable number. It’s a number I know I can accomplish. Unlike previous failed attempts, see every NaNoWriMo ever, I’m not going to be working on a specific project. Hopefully this will kick start some ideas!

So, the big question: do my daily blog posts count? They are comparably short blog posts, and I’m working on them in chunks. I’m going to try and reach the 500 words without counting blog posts, but in the spirit of keeping this a relatively stress-free endeavor, let’s say the blog posts can count if I need them to.

I have a few other writing goals, all of which will be helped out by writing 500 words a day. Like the every day blog post, the idea of this one is to make writing a habit. You see, I know that I want to write. I talk about writing all the time. But actually sitting down and doing it? I read and read advice on writing and they all say mostly the same thing: write even when you haven’t been hit by inspiration.

So, that’s what I’m going to do!

6 thoughts on “January 2 – Write 500 words every day

  1. I think your blog posts definitely count! It’s about getting in the habit of writing more, and your blog can help you do that. Once you’ve gotten in the habit, you can branch out into other venues.

  2. Yes, they do.

    The thing about “writer” as a label is that it isn’t one someone else can give you, like “doctor” or “professor”. It is simply someone who writes—active, present tense. If you are writing—be it journaling, blogging, or whatever—then you’re a writer. It’s as simple as that. ❤

    As for habits, "fake it 'til you make it" has its origins in the fact that you have to force a habit for a while, and then it's second nature. You'll do it. And you'll do it well.

  3. I totally think your blog posts can count because you write so beautifully Lu and it’s still writing..it’s putting your thoughts into the written form. I look back on my posts from 2007 and can certainly see how I’ve grown as a “writer” since then :p Not a publishable writer, lol..but yeah, blog posts are definitely good practice!

  4. This sounds like a really good goal. I should start doing something like this, although more as in: work on your thesis, than writing a novel or something (I don’t think I’d be a good fiction author). I wish you the best of luck! And a very happy 2013!

  5. Your blog posts can definitely count! In my opinion. This is a very inspiring resolution. I’ve never been good at keeping writing resolutions, but I keep on making them, trying to figure out the one that will someday work for me.

Leave a Reply

