Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me

Family and friends! I am making it so easy for you.

Last year, I gave my family a wish list that contained a bunch of books and some DVDs and a few miscellaneous small things. They ask for this list every year and I finally got around to doing it. I received Ted Kooser’s Poetry Home Repair Manual. Because Ted Kooser is the best and I (foolishly) sold this book back to my college bookstore back in the days when I could count the money in my bank account on two hands.

I know when it comes to people who read as much as I do, I’m worried about getting them books as gifts. Hello, we are book hoarders. You probably have every book I want to give you squirreled away in your book prepper bunker. Forget food, you just want to make sure that you have every book you might ever want to read available to do so when the world ends. Why do I know this about you? Because I do the same thing. I have book bunkers all up and down the east coast. Just. in. case.

Anyway, here’s the very helpful list of the top ten books that I would love to receive from any of those who might be giving me gifts this year. I promise I don’t have a copy stored away somewhere. (I don’t think.)

1) Building Stories by Chris Ware – The first ever graphic novel/comic that I read was Chris Ware’s brilliant Jimmy Corrigan: Smartest Kid on Earth. (Which, actually, I also sold back to my college bookstore. Curse you, past-Lu, for your desire for a bit of cash.) I’ve been eagerly awaiting this publication and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

2) Best American Poetry 2012, guest editor Mark Doty, series editor David Lehman – I’m not sure any poetry collection can beat the Best American Poetry 2011 collection, edited by Kevin Young, but I read this collection pretty much every year.

3) The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook by Deb Perelman – I love the Smitten Kitchen blog and I’m so excited to jump into her cookbook.

4) Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver – Barbara Kingsolver has written some of my favorite books, but bad reviews have kept me from reading some of her most recent novels. Everything I’ve read about Flight Behavior has been praise, though!

5) Game of Thrones box set by George RR Martin – Too many Tumblr gif sets have convinced me that I need to finally read this book series and then watch the show. It looks like something I will love.

6) Geek Chic Crochet by Nicki Trench – I have been burned by many a crochet book. There’s usually only one or two pretty patterns and I’ve never actually completed any of them. I’m not sure what about these patterns make them geeky, or chic, other than all the models seem to be wearing thick framed glasses. But I’ve seen sweater patterns from these books that look pretty! And it’s hard to find a pretty crochet sweater pattern.

7) Savage Beauty: The Life of Edna St. Vincent Millay by Nancy Milford – I’ve had a recent love affair with the poetry of Edna St. Vincent Millay and I don’t know much about her. This is also on the list of all the books that Rory Gilmore read.

8) Just One Day by Gayle Forman – I read and loved Gayle Foreman’s books If I Stay and Where She Went and I gave them to my sister. I wouldn’t mind if someone gave a copy of her newest to me!

9) The City’s Son by Tom Pollock – I met Tom Pollock at BEA and he convinced me that his book was worth reading. So… I’d like to read it.

10) A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel with art by Hope Larsen – Yes, please! No explanation needed.

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted at The Broke & The Bookish! Check out the list of upcoming themes to participate.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me

  1. I would like a graphic version of A Wrinkle in Time also! And as for the new Gayle Forman, I am beyond excited that I will be getting this for Library Thing Early Reviewers! Yay, a de facto Christmas present :–)

Leave a Reply

