ABCs of Thankfulness

Every year, I post the ABCs of Thankfulness. It’s turned into my Thanksgiving tradition. Sometime while the turkey is cooking and we’re sitting around watching football (if I’m at my dad’s) or the parade (if I’m at my mom’s), I pull out the computer and take a minute for this. Thanks, of course, always goes to Trish, for giving the inspiration that started a tradition!

Autumn. You are the best season.

Boyfriend, because Michael is my best friend and I’m thankful for him every day.

Crafts! I love feeling creative and making something out of nothing.

Drama, because you make stories so good!

Email, because it keeps me connected with people around the world.

Fantasy. Many of my favorite stories are fantasy stories. I’m thankful for that!

Green, you are a lovely color.

Happiness. Thankful for the happiness in my life.

Indulgence. Thank you for the piece of chocolate in the afternoon, the break in the middle of the week from the gym, that extra bit of butter I put in the mashed potatoes.

Jammies, because, you know, real pants are overrated.

Kindness. So thankful for small acts of kindness.

Love, because that’s the best thing to be thankful for.

Metafiction, when you’re done right, you’re so cool.

North Carolina, because it’s a beautiful place.

Opportunity. I’m thankful for every opportunity I’ve had, in all parts of my life.

Plots, because I’ve used every other iteration of books, words, stories, poems in the ABCs of Thankfulness.

Quest stories.

Relations. Family and friends? I would be lost without you.

Scarves! Because you keep me warm and you’re oh so comfy.

TV Shows, because I love stories and some excellent stories are being told on TV right now.

Ups and downs, life is full of them, but I’m thankful for everything this life has to offer.

Village, The. The best neighborhood in the city.

Work friends, for getting me through the day.

Xfit. Okay, I don’t actually love crossfit. I hate it. It makes me hurt, but I’m thankful for what my body can do.

Yarn, I’m thankful for the joy you bring to my life!

Zzzzzzs. I do love a good nap or a perfect night’s rest.

Photo credit: Flickr user blmiers2, creative commons license.

6 thoughts on “ABCs of Thankfulness

  1. I hope you had a wonderful thanksgiving Lu. And yes, absolutely agree about real pants being overrated. 😉 Can you believe it’s already two days into December?!

Leave a Reply

