Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books Published in 2012 That I Want to Read

This was a freebie month, so I thought I’d do a little reminder for myself that there were a lot of books published in 2012 that I’d really like to read, maybe before the end of the year. I don’t read a ton of new releases, so I don’t want these to fall under my radar this year:

1. Etymologicon: A Circular Stroll Through the Hidden Connections of the English Language by Mark Forsyth – This one came out in paperback in 2012 (totally counts!) and I love books about language, so of course this one made the list.

2. Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway – There was a lot of praise for this one when it came out, but I never quite got around to reading it. The premise sounds so odd and interesting and indescribable. I like that.

3. The Cove by Ron Rash – This book sounds so good. Set in the Appalachian Mountains during WWI with mythical, larger than life characters. Plus the author is known for his poetic language, something I adore.

4. The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling – Of course I’m going to read this book, but I want to wait until all the noise has died down about it. I want to go in with a totally open mind.

5. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – A lot of bloggers I trust have read and loved this book. On the list it goes!

6. Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony – I think Vasilly read this and reviewed it and intrigued me. I love stories with unconventional narrative styles and it sounds like this one has it.

7. Seven Houses in France by Bernardo Atxaga – This book is originally published in Euskadi, the Basque language, and while that doesn’t exactly make it necessary to read, it does really intrigue me. The dark humor and satire that the summary promises, though, really does make me want to read it right away.

8. Ghosting by Kirby Gann – I’m obsessed with this cover/title/premise combo. Hopefully the book can live up to it all.

9. Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain – I bought this one a while back on a whim. The title and plot sound interesting and I want to compare it with the other Iraq War novel I read this year, The Yellow Birds. 

10. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt – One person to blame for this one making the list: Chris! He’s been reading it lately and saying how much he loved it.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. It’s a weekly meme of bookish lists, because who doesn’t love a list?! For more information about participating in Top Ten Tuesday, take a look at this list of future topics!

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books Published in 2012 That I Want to Read

  1. Ooh loving the list. There are quite a few books you mentioned that I want to read too – Seraphina & The Casual Vacancy for starters. I hope you manage to get to them all 🙂

  2. There are so many books that came out this year that I still want to read. I miss so many because at work I have been thinking about next year for over a month already! I will have to check some of these out and add them to goodreads!

  3. 2) I’m excited about Angelmaker too. I finally bought it when it came out in paperback, but haven’t picked it up yet. I’m hoping to this month.

    5) Seraphina was a lot of fun. I think you will like it.

    10) I want to read this one too! It is on my shelves, but still unread.

    How did you make your cool collage thing? I have wanted to make those for my blog, but never knew how?

  4. Ghosting does sound/look fabulous. This is the first I’ve heard of it. On my TBR now. I’ve got The Cove and Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk already. Hopefully I can get to those this winter.

    I had never read any Rowling before I read The Casual Vacancy. I really enjoyed it. I’m glad I didn’t have any baggage with me when I started it. I’ll be curious to read your thoughts.

  5. Totally agree with you on Seraphina!! I have it and still haven’t read it..maybe we need a group read 😉 About the Casual Vacancy…I was so upset 😦 I had to give up on it halfway through because it just didn’t work for me at all. And it really upset me because I’ve loved her so much with everything Harry Potter…I wanted her to be a favorite author for life, but I really want her to go back to children/YA novels. And OMG LU TELL THE WOLVES I’M HOME LIKE GO GET IT RIGHT NOW!!!! LITERALLY!!!!! I’ve been savoring it when I could easily read it in one sitting. It’s the first time I’ve ever purposely read a book slowly. I just literally don’t want it to ever end!

  6. Um, I’m totally in love with the cover for Chopsticks — romantic and sort of vintage-y and awesome.

    Also, I started The Casual Vacancy but took a “break” around the 100-page marked that has stretched into a month or so without picking it up. It’s not even that it’s bad, it’s just . . . not holding my attention. I don’t know. I’ll be quite interested to hear your thoughts down the road!

  7. I read The Casual Vacancy when it first came out and I had an easy time not thinking about her “other” books because it’s very different. When you do dive in, though, be prepared to give it a little bit and to trust that you’ll remember who all of the characters are. There are so many, that I know a lot of readers struggled and didn’t enjoy this part of it. I felt the confusion initially as well, and while it is a little quieter of a novel (initially), it’s a much darker story on people’s morals, or the complete disregard of them. I quite enjoyed it, but I like those twisted tales. 🙂

Leave a Reply

