#readathon updates!

I’m not doing a full readathon today, but I did wake up around 8:30 and started reading then. I finished one book and started another, before it was time to get out of bed, get some lunch, and do the weekly shopping. Now that’s behind me and I can readathon a little bit more traditionally. I’m on the couch, I’m going to make myself some tea, and we have dinner cooking in the oven, ready to go in a few hours. You can follow along with all my updates on this post. I’ll be adding to it throughout the day!

First, the introductory meme:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

My apartment in New York!

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

Hmm, I don’t actually have a stack. Just my shelves! But I am looking forward to pulling out a comic or two, like Radioactive by Lauren Redniss.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

We’re making nachos with shredded beef for dinner! SO excited for that!

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

Hmm, let’s see. I’ve been blogging for almost four years. I really want to write a book at some point in my life. I crochet things.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

Well, last time I was helping out with the hosting, but this time I’m just taking it easy. I don’t plan on staying up the whole 24 hours, because I have an oyster festival to go to tomorrow, but I do plan on reading as much as I can for the next, oh, 10 hours.

Hours 1-7:

This is the book that has been consuming me the past few days. In fact, I did little else but read it during my free time. I had about 50 pages left and I finished them all this morning.

Ate for lunch: pho!
Groceries purchased! Now:

I’m on page 159 out of 277 of this one, so I hope to have it finished in the next hour or so. I’ll keep you updated!

Hour 8:

I finished Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone. Man, the last part of that book was intense and heartbreaking. I don’t think this book is going to be on my top books of 2012 or anything, but I’m glad I read it. It’s well-written.

I also ate some potato chips and onion dip. Yum! Next up I think I’ll read a comic. Maybe Radioactive or Empire State. 

Hour 9 & 10:

These were a productive two hours!

I really loved this comic. It’s short and bittersweet, with a main character who journeys across the country to be with the girl he loves. Except he’s never told her. I loved the art, love the way color was used to help the story progress back and forth in time, loved it all, pretty much. Excuse me while I go look up everything Shiga has ever written/drawn, so I can read it all.

It was nice to take a break with poetry. I think this is the perfect kind of poetry to read during the readathon. These poems are easy to read, like snapshots and character studies. The language is beautiful, but not overly complex. I adored these poems, which is really no surprise since Natasha Trethewey is an amazing poet.

Now, onto Radioactive, as Vasilly requested!

9:15PM: I’m halfway through Radioactive after taking a few breaks here and there, but I wanted to do the midevent survey!

1) How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?

Not feeling tired and I still have one more diet coke in the fridge, so I think I’ll be fine!

2) What have you finished reading?

As mentioned above, Columbine by Dave Cullen, Amelia Anne Is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield, Empire State by Jason Shiga, and Domestic Work by Natasha Trethewey.

3) What is your favorite read so far?

I think the best book is Columbine, but I only read the last 50 pages of that today. Empire State was the one that surprised me the most. Domestic Work was just as good as I thought it would be. And Amelia Anne was good, but my favorite.

4) What about your favorite snacks?

Hmm, I ate more chips than I should and then proceeded to have nachos for dinner. So all of them?

5) Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love!

I haven’t been traveling around blogs a lot tonight, though I’ll probably do some of that when I need a break later in the evening. Instead I’d like to thank the 2 new-to-me blogs that have commented on my blog today: Buried in Print and Scraptherapy!

20 thoughts on “#readathon updates!

    1. I was ready to read it, but as I was telling Caitie, I don’t know what made me ready or why now was the right time to read this book, but it was.

      Happy Readathon!

    1. I think Columbine is definitely a book that you have to be in the right place to read. I’ve thought about reading it so many times, but I’m glad I waited until now. It was just the right time, though I couldn’t tell you what made it the right time.

      Dinner was delicious 🙂

  1. Not sure that I will make it a whole 24 hours but I’ve already read three books so this has been a great read-a-thon already. Good luck going forward!

    1. I’m DEFINITELY not making it the full 24 hours! It’s almost midnight, a full 8 hours to go, and I am totally going to sleep soon. One cup of hot chocolate for me and I’m out. Have a fabulous rest of the readathon Dana and thank you for visiting my blog.

  2. I totally get what you mean about Columbine! It consumed me when I read it, too!

    So glad you’re Read-a-Thon-ing, Lu!!!! Just made my evening even happier! 😀

    1. It felt strange. All I’ve wanted to do for the past few days is read Columbine. So many people asked me why I would read such a thing, but I think it’s important to look critically at how we handle our tragedies, why they happen, what they mean collectively. I believe that that’s true of our personal tragedies as well as the national ones.

      Your readathon posts have made me happy too! Happy Readathon Debi!

      1. So well-said, Lu! I completely agree with you. And with Columbine, there is just so much misinformation out there that I think is sort of stuck in our collective consciousness. It was interesting to read how that happened. And it makes me wonder how many other myths are attached to the tragedies of the world that become major new events.

  3. What a great combination of works, and I love that you’re reading from your shelves, not a stack. I have a Natasha Trethewey out from the library right now, but I didn’t include any poetry in my stack this time, although I think I’ll join you in a graphic novel very soon!

    1. I like to mix things up for the Readathon so I never get bored! From nonfiction to YA to poetry to comics. Back on YA, but this time it’s a dystopian instead of a contemporary. This is my Readathon secret :). I hope you enjoyed the comic you picked up!

  4. Yay for Radioactive! Have you finished it? What do you think? I thought Shiga’s Empire State was okay but enjoyed his Bookhunter more. Librarians as cops? What’s not too love? But it is pretty technical. My kids love Shiga’s Meanwhile, which is like a graphic novel version of Choose Your Own Adventure.

    I’m so glad you found out about Buried in Print! She is so awesome. I hope you have a good week.

  5. All of those books sound so good!!! I think you’re seriously putting them all on my wishlist :p AND you have me drooling for nachos with shredded beef now :p

Leave a Reply

