This week in…

not bloggiestia-ing.

I had every intention of participating in Bloggiesta this weekend, but there were just too many fun things going on this weekend. I was going to work on it this evening, but a friend of ours invited us to go see Looper tonight. Since I’ve been super excited about seeing this movie ever since I saw the trailer, I couldn’t turn him down.

There are a lot of things that need updating here, but I did a huge overhaul last Bloggiesta, so they’re basic housekeeping things that I really should be doing weekly anyway. One of them includes figuring out what to do with my “currently reading” sidebar! The truth is that it’s too difficult to maintain. I either switch books to quickly or end up not finishing the book and it just sits there and stares at me. I’ve decided to change it to some of my favorite reads of the year, something I’ve seen on other blogs.

Another thing I want to work on is making crafting a more prominent part of my blog. When I started Regular Rumination, my intention was to have this be a crafting and book blog, but crafting sort of took a back seat to school and reading and reviewing. I haven’t been doing much reviewing lately, I just don’t seem to have an interest in it, and I’m no longer in school, so I have a lot more time for crafty pursuits in the evenings. I have a few ideas that I hinted at last week, and I hope to roll them out in the next week or two.

new phone purchasing!

Tomorrow I’m getting a new phone! Which I guess means that it should really go in next week’s “This Week In” post, but I’m so very excited! I’ve had this slow, clunky phone that is a smart phone, but it’s a smart phone that only runs two apps at a time. I downloaded Hootsuite when I first got it and a Sudoku app. That in addition to the standard apps, like Maps (which works about half the time), is about all it can handle. I’m excited to have a phone that actually functions, including a camera with better pixels than my current digital camera.

reading.

I finished Tolstoy and the Purple Chair by Nina Sankovitch, which was nice, if a bit disjointed. There were certainly parts that really resonated with me.

I also read 13, edited by James Howe. It was good, but like most story collections, had strong stories and weaker stories. Fortunately some of the stronger stories came toward the end.

I finished Ask the Passengers by AS King, which I adored, even though it felt a little heavy handed at times. I think AS King is definitely one of my favorite YA authors, though my favorite book of hers so far is Everybody Sees the Ants. if you haven’t read it, get thee to a bookstore or library and read it! I only have one book of AS King’s left to read, The Dust of 100 Dogs, and this makes me sad. I hope she puts out another book next year! I was trying to describe her books to a friend of mine and I said they are all a little bit sad, very funny, and a bit weird. It’s a perfect combination.

I started reading In the Shadow of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner. So far, it’s a terrifying and moving story, though I haven’t necessarily connected with the story yet. That being said, it is making me realize how much I miss reading books that are set in different countries during different time periods. My reading for the last year or so has been very US/UK-centric, with little translated fiction or fiction about other places. This novel is not translated, but I miss exploring with the books I read. Once I have read most of the books I have in my apartment and I start going to the library more, I’m definitely going to be more conscious about where authors are from and which languages books are originally published in.

blogging.

I participated in the More Diverse Universe Blog Tour, which was amazing! I want to go around and comment on all the blogs that participated this week. I really loved the book I read for this tour and from the comments it seems like I convinced a few people to add it to their TBR.

I also talked about my plans for Books In and Books Out. I’m purchasing 3 books this month, but I have 5 on my desk to get rid of! Once I finish Under the Shadow of the Banyan, that one can leave too, so I’m doing very well. I’ve only been reading books I already own and, so far, I’m not bored. The books I’m purchasing are The Night Circus, Something Wicked This Way Comes, and Getting Things Done. 

readalongs.

Speaking of The Night Circus and Something Wicked This Way Comes… won’t you join me in reading these two books this October? I know that fall is a busy time for blogging and readalongs, but I’ve wanted to reread Something Wicked and The Night Circus for some time now and this seems like the perfect time to do it.

I’m calling this event The Wicked Circus Read and I have a whole post about it here.

This month for The Poetry Project, we’re also celebrating Halloween and the spookiest season by reading Halloween poems. This would be the perfect time to catch up on all your Edgar Allen Poe poetry or check out this resource of Halloween poetry and scary poetry from the Poetry Foundation.

Have a lovely week!

7 thoughts on “This week in…

  1. When it comes to the “currently reading” widget, I had the same problem. So I changed it from currently reading to books I’ve read in the past, plugging in a Goodreads widget. Now I don’t have to worry about keeping it update. Goodreads does that for me.

  2. Wowza, you are one busy woman! 🙂

    I’ve never read anything by AS King, but “a little bit sad, very funny, and a bit weird” totally makes me think I need to change that. And soon.

  3. I was a bit disappointed w/ the Tolstoy/Purple Chair book. I always want to love books about reading, but this one just didn’t do it for me. And hurray for new directions in blogging…I always love reading about how creative people are. 😀

  4. Definitely feel you on the currently reading sidebar — I got rid of mine completely! I felt like it was a weird added pressure on my reading that I just didn’t want/need, and I don’t miss it. I try to keep my Goodreads and LibraryThing “currently reading” up to date, but I don’t stress too much about that, either.

    Whew, lots of fun things going on! 🙂 Hope you enjoyed “Looper” — I’ve heard great things. I might break down and go see it myself!

    1. I LOVED LOOPER. I might talk about it some more on the blog, but it’s been a while since I saw it. Maybe if I go see it again?

      I’m definitely getting rid of the “currently reading” sidebar, as soon as I have a minute and delete what’s already there 🙂

Leave a Reply

