This week in…

blogging.

I took the week off from blogging, though not from reading posts. For the past 6 months, I’ve completely gotten rid of Google Reader, because I thought it would cut down on my stress. This is true, it did cut down on my stress, but then I missed a lot of really great things on all of your blogs. So this past week I decided the only thing to do was to completely delete every subscription I had in GR and add in the blogs I wanted to read daily. Now, the only thing in my GR are blogs that I want to see every time they post. I used to have a complicated tag system, but now it is simply Book Blogs, Craft Blogs and Food Blogs. The only casualty? I had a linguistics blog that I was reading and I can’t remember what it is called! I will keep looking for it though.

This week is the last week to post for the Poetry Project in September. Remember, this month’s theme is “classic” poetry, but feel free to read whatever you like and post, as long as it is about poetry!

reading.

I spent the week reading my book for the A More Diverse Universe Blog Tour hosted by Aarti at Book Lust. I read The Shadowed Sun by NK Jemisin, and I loved it. I read these books on the recommendation of Thea, one of the Book Smugglers, and absolutely adored them. I think I liked The Shadowed Sun more than The Killing Moon, the first book in the series, but it might have just been because I was much more familiar with the world this time around. I’ll tell you more about these books on my tour date, Wednesday the 26th, but they are a fantasy novel based loosely on Egyptian/North African cultures.

Now I’m reading Moonwalking With Einstein by Joshua Foer and I’m really enjoying it.  Up next: Ask the Passengers by AS King.

crafting.

I continued to work on my sister’s shawl and after ripping it out last week, I have to say, it looks so much better. I’m so glad I caught my mistake before I had done more. Moral of the story: read through the whole pattern before you start.

I have been thinking a lot about my yarn stash and how I want to use it up, and I’ve been thinking about trying to work on a few projects that will completely use up my yarn through the year. I’d like to create something new every month, with a goal of finishing 12 projects throughout the year. I like to crochet, but I often stop in the middle of a project. I have so many things that are half finished around my apartment. I’d really like to sit down and finish them. Are there any other crocheters or knitters or crafters out there who would be interested in making this a challenge?

Have a lovely week!

4 thoughts on “This week in…

  1. I like how you break down this post, it was fun to read. I never did get into using Google Reader, I have always just used my sidebar blogs and those I enjoy reading and visit that way… I am sure I miss tons 🙂

  2. So much wonderfulness here, Lu! I love what you did with your reader. I really ought to try something like that myself. I just can’t find that fine line between having too many blogs to read that I’m constantly stressed out/miserable and leaving blogs out that bring me so much enjoyment. *sigh*

    But back to wonderfulness. I LOVE your project a month idea! As in seriously LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!! So yes, I’d love to join you! PS–I’m a starter/non-finisher myself. 😛

  3. Moonwalking with Einstein has been on my TBR pile for months now. I’ve rented it from the library, downloaded a sample on my kindle, picked it up at the bookstore. I do so want to read it, but it never seems right. Maybe I’m a non-finisher myself. Hope you have a blast reading it!

  4. I would love to motivate myself to crochet through my yarn stash. For awhile I had this idea I was going to make a granny square blanket with all my small balls/remnants of yarn, but I didn’t get very far on that one (10 squares, maybe, I’d have to check). So, tentative yes to the idea of a challenge? I’d probably have to sort through my stash and figure out what yarn I have before deciding on what to do with it.

Leave a Reply

