This week in…

blogging. 

This week was BBAW and it was one of the most heart-warming, sentimental (in the best way!), happy-making BBAWs that I can remember. It was all about loving your fellow book bloggers and just saying thank you. What an amazing week. I posted about how I have met a few bloggers this past year and I want to meet more, an interview with Bernadette Davis, and about how much the connections I’ve made through book blogging have meant to me.

Some of my favorite posts from this week:

Last week, I also blogged about a very informal readalong that I’m hosting in October. I’d like to have Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury and The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern read by October 31st. Will you join me?

reading. 

I have thrown myself into RIP VII full force this week. I read Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn, Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley, and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. I didn’t mean to read Where Things Come Back for RIP, but after I started reading it, I realized it is kind of RIP-y. I started reading The Seance by John Harwood.

Also, things you should know about these books:

  • All four feature characters with the name Alma or very similar to Alma (Amma in Sharp Objects.)
  • Two of them feature ornithologists prominently (Where Things Come Back and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children)
  • All of them feature missing, murdered, or dead children
  • All of them are creepy

I’m a little ornithologist-Alma’d-missing kid’d out. I’m going to finish The Seance, but I need to read something totally different ASAP. Hopefully something still very RIP-y, but not so weirdly similar as these four.

poetry.

Poetry took the back burner for BBAW this week, but there was a really wonderful poem sent out as part of the Poets.org Poem-A-Day email. It’s called “Big Game” and it’s by Brenda Shaughnessy. My favorite lines:

Now, in grownhood, I call the ghost
to my fragile table, my fleshy supper,
my tiny flame.

As a reminder, this month our theme is “classic” poetry. You can sign up for this month’s Mr. Linky on Kelly’s blog.

crafting.

So, my sisters want crocheted things for Christmas, because I am broke (student loans!) and I have a huge stash of yarn that I need to use up. (So I can spend the money not spent on student loans on new yarn. Who needs to eat?) I started making my sister’s shawl and, thanks to some help from Heather, found a matching hat. She requested a black scarf and hat set to match her red coat. I chose this shawl I found on pinterest:

 

 

You can purchase this shawl pattern here. The hat that Heather found to match is perfect and my sister really likes it, too, which is all that matters. You can see the hat here.

And aldjfpwoeuroaughghghghghghhhh. As I was writing up this post, I really looked at the photo and compared it to my shawl and it looks different. I realized that I read the pattern incorrectly and did the flower part wrong. I was wondering why mine didn’t look as good, and now I know. So all the work I’ve done! I’m going to have to rip it out. This is my sad face.

Anyway, my goal today is to find a hat and scarf pattern for my younger sister. She wants to be surprised, but my other sister is “supervising” the decision. That’s all for me this Sunday. I hope you have a fabulous week!

8 thoughts on “This week in…

  1. Yes, thank you for posting some of the BBAW highlights. I wasn’t as active at BBAW as I wanted to be and getting to see some of the great posts is awesome. Now I have to go see if that Ray Bradbury book is also a banned book (double duty and all that…)

  2. There is nothing worse than frogging something after doing all that work!! *sad face* It will look so gorgeous when you are done. That pattern is wicked.

    And yay for all the reading, even if it is very serendipitious (totally just made that word up). I loved Miss Peregrine. Still need to try Gillian Flynn.

    I’m planning to read Something Wicked This Way Comes with you! 🙂

  3. That’s just too weird–the Alma/Amma thing! That alone would have creeped me out! 😛

    That shawl is absolutely gorgeous!!! But BOO on the ripping out thing. Ripping out = Sad (okay, and sometimes a little mad thrown in too…especially when you’ve ripped out the same thing multiple times…but let’s hope there’s none of that in your shawl!)

Leave a Reply

