What Does Book Blogging Mean to Me? Books! (BBAW Day 3 & 4)

I started blogging because of books.

Because for as long as I can remember, I’ve been the girl who reads. The one who carries a book wherever she goes, who feels lost without one, who often chooses the world within pages over the real one. When I was in middle school, I was made fun of for putting Harry Potter in my health book and reading during class. There’s a very memorable college party where, once the drinks came out, I told my friends, “Please don’t be offended if I read.” My grandmother, equally bookish, tried to pry me out of my book occasionally to be with family, “The book will still be there tomorrow,” she promised.

Because, when my grandmother died, I turned to Joan Didion and Betty Smith to help me make some kind of sense of it, even when the answer was, “It will never make sense.” Because when my boyfriend and I first started dating, we bonded over The Time Traveler’s Wife. “Here,” he said to me. “Read this book.” And I read it and fell in love, with him and with Audrey Niffenegger. Because all these years later, I still remember the blue bathing suit I was wearing when I finished reading A Wrinkle In Time for the first time and I felt in my tiny 10-year-old heart that the world had surely changed, because I felt different.

I started blogging because there wasn’t enough room in my body for all these books. I had to share.

I blog because otherwise, I would have read The StandMrs. Dalloway and 2666 alone. Because I’m not sure I would have picked up another YA novel if it weren’t for Chris and Daphne and Steph Su. Because I would probably still think that comics were for boys and people who didn’t like words, obviously, if it weren’t for Ana. Because when I begged for recommendations for RIP IV, Eva and Care recommended Something Wicked This Way Comes, and now it’s one of my favorite novels. Because of all the people who have taken the time to comment on this blog. Because now, I read more poetry than ever because you inspired me and reminded me. Because every book I’ve reread recently or I plan on rereading (The Secret HistoryThe Knife of Never Letting Go, The Night Circus, and Something Wicked This Way Comes) are, in all honesty, books I never would have read if you hadn’t suggested it.

Because of all the times we have exchanged emails detailing what we liked and didn’t like about the Hunger Games movie. Because of all the times we’ve emailed about things that are not books, like recipes and our health and college and life in general. Because of all the times you’ve made me push the boundaries of my reading comfort zones, when it was successful and when it wasn’t. Because of all the books that I call “favorite” that you have recommended over the years.

I keep blogging because of books, but also because of all of you.

23 thoughts on “What Does Book Blogging Mean to Me? Books! (BBAW Day 3 & 4)

  1. Just this: “Because all these years later, I still remember the blue bathing suit I was wearing when I finished reading A Wrinkle In Time for the first time and I felt in my tiny 10-year-old heart that the world had surely changed, because I felt different.” For some strange reason, I cried a little as I read this. Beautiful.

  2. I love everything about this lovely, lovely post.

    Particularly the Wrinkle in Time part. I felt the same way and still remember my 4th grade self hugging the tiny paperback to my chest, closing my eyes, and knowing I had just read something about life I had never known before.

  3. This is a beautiful post. I especially love the part where you said, “I would have read _____ alone.” That speaks volumes. I got a kick out of your mentioning you might pull out a book, at a college party, when the drinks came out. 🙂 In high school, I used to play hooky to go to the library and read.

  4. This is one of the best posts I have ever, ever read. My eyes have the start of tears and my heart is swelled up a bit–this was just beautiful!!!!

  5. This is probably one of the most beautiful things anyone has written on their blogs. I have also just recently started blogging because I think I need something productive to do also. And it would be just great if I could some day make someone feel the way you described in your post. Thank you for writing this.

  6. What a lovely post, Lu! And so heartfelt. It’s funny that I come back to blogging in the middle of BBAW and find all these posts about blogging friends. I realise how much I’ve missed all of the wonderful things about book blogging and how much I’ve missed everyone. Tc!

Leave a Reply

