BBAW 2012 – Appreciation

Book Blogger Appreciation Week 2012 is here. This is one of my very favorite events and this year, Amy has decided to make a big change. There will be no awards. I have never had a problem with the awards, but I can see why some people didn’t love them. I think that this year, without the awards and all the work they entail, we’ll really be able to focus on what this week is about: saying thank you to each other for being such a welcoming community.

In the past, I have highlighted bloggers that have meant a lot to me, but this year, I just want to talk generally about the connections I have made through book blogging. On Friday, I’ll talk more about what book blogging means to me, but now I just want to talk about the people.

I met bloggers in real life for the first time this year. During BEA, I got milkshakes and sliders with Jenn and Memory and we had so much fun, talking about books and writing and life. Kim and I spent most of the Book Blogger Convention and the Sunday before together and we became even better friends. I got to meet new bloggers and bloggers that I have known about but never met in person. It was such a whirlwind, but next year, I want to meet even more people who attend. There were so many people I missed.

People often ask me what it is like to meet someone you have only known on the internet in the “real world.” 9 times out of 10, they are exactly the same person online as they are in person. It was, oddly, like meeting someone you have known forever for the first time. You are getting used to the way they are in person, but you already know so much about them.

The other thing that meeting bloggers in real life has made me realize is how many of you I wish I could meet and one day hope to meet. Trish, Chris, Ana, Debi, Ash, Care, Natasha, Amanda, Kelly, and, honestly, so many more. I wish there was a fool-proof way to get us all together.

I know that book blogging wouldn’t mean much without the people. Sure, I’ve learned a lot about myself in the four years I have been doing this, but I don’t think I would have kept doing it if it weren’t for the people on the other end. Regular Rumination is what it is because of all the people I have connected with, because of all the friendships I have made.

Thank you, all of you, for leaving a comment. For stopping by to visit. For making this the most amazing experience it has been. I hope we have many more years together.

 

14 thoughts on “BBAW 2012 – Appreciation

  1. I agree that it’s not much of a surprise to meet someone you already “know” through book blogging. It’s just an added pleasure!
    This past year I did have an unpleasant experience with someone I knew only through the internets, and I wonder if that could have been avoided if we’d met in person. The ninth person out of ten is hard to read through the written word only.

  2. Oh my, how I wish there was a way, too! And it could happen–it really could!!! Honestly, I know I *will* meet you in person one day! I’m determined. And you know why–because you are genuinely one of the sweetest souls I’ve ever met. You make this world a better place to be. You just have such a genuine spirit. I just think you are amazingly awesome. Sorry to get all mushy (BBAW has a way of making that happen), but that is the honest to goodness truth.

  3. Isn’t this week the best? My lunch has been one giant BBAW lovefest and I’m willing the clock not to turn any more minutes so I can just keep the high a little longer.

    Thank you Lu for being part of my world. For encouraging and teaching. For opening your heart and for your honesty.

    So wish that we could all get together and meet as well. a giant book blogger slumber party. πŸ˜‰ it would be the most fun.

  4. I am so glad I got the chance to meet and spend some time with you this year! Like you, I’ve found that almost all the bloggers I’ve met in person are just as I expected them to be, and somehow that fact makes the relationships with all my online friends feel more real.

  5. It was such a great treat to meet you at BEA, too! And yeah, it’s always a pleasant surprise when you meet a blogger in person and realize you already know them. I love that feeling, and I love the community you talk about. It’s what keeps me blogging even when I’m behind. πŸ™‚

  6. Oh Lu, I hope I get to meet you one day too!! That would be so freaking awesome!! I still totally plan on trying to put together a blogger get together once I get my house. Have to start searching for one first :p

Leave a Reply

