Random Sunday Thoughts, October Reads

I have several posts half-written in my drafts folder, all waiting to be polished up and finished, but I seem to be full of ambition and not a lot of motivation these past few weeks. They’ve been weeks filled with highs and lows, last summer hurrahs and visits from friends and to family, but also with stress and the first colds of fall. I was hoping this would be the year that I wouldn’t get sick as much. Maybe I’ve had the worst cold I’ll have all winter. A girl can dream.

Part of me feels like I wasted a beautiful day, but I’ve been sitting by my back door with the windows open, fresh air making its way through my top-floor apartment, the sun shining on our couch. I’ve read the afternoon away, and it’s passed slowly, lazily and I cannot complain. We made cheese and couscous for lunch, with roasted broccoli. Another summer meal for dinner, with hot dogs, mashed cauliflower, and watermelon. Okay, at some point while I was writing up this post, we decided to cook the frozen pizza we’ve been craving all weekend. Hot dogs, cauliflower and watermelon on Tuesday, then!

This week, I read The Secret History for the second time, almost a year to the day since I read it for the first time. Like with most rereads, I found new things that I didn’t notice the first time, things that annoyed me, but also new things to love. I still count this book as one of my favorite reading experiences and I think I will reread it again, but with a longer time between reads, maybe in a few years. Our theme for my book club this month was to choose a book that you wanted to share with the group and my suggestion of The Secret History was the winner. I’m excited (and nervous!) to see what everyone thinks. Our meeting is tomorrow, and hopefully I’ll have a post up about it next week.

I decided a while back that I wanted this to be the autumn of rereading. Not for any reason other than the fact that I knew I wanted to reread The Secret History and there’s no better time than when the seasons change and everyone goes back to school. Then, I was thinking back when Ray Bradbury passed away, that I desperately want to reread Something Wicked This Way Comes this year. It’s one of my favorite books and I haven’t read it since I first began blogging. Then I started thinking about how there were so many influences of Something Wicked This Way Comes in The Night Circus. Even though I only read The Night Circus in the Spring, I’ve been craving it and I want to reread it, though I’m not sure I’ve ever read a book again so soon after reading it the first time.

So, the Wicked Circus Read was born. I’m going to be reading these two books in October, in conjunction with RIP and Halloween, and hopefully posting my thoughts during the last week of October. I’d love for you to join me. This is going to be a very informal readalong. I’m reading the books and if you’re interested, I hope you’ll join me! I plan on using the hashtag #wickedcircus to talk about the books on Twitter. I know October is a busy month for readalongs and reading projects, so that’s why this isn’t more official than having a button and a post date of “the end of October,” but it would be fabulous to have company!

12 thoughts on “Random Sunday Thoughts, October Reads

  1. I’m in for Something Wicked This Way Comes! I don’t feel like it’s been long enough since I read The Night Circus to read again…although my mind may change! It’s SUCh a great book!

  2. I’ve reread The Secret History at least 5 times. Like you, I love it! And, I love Something Wicked This Way Comes. I can totally understand wanting to reread things this autumn, that’s part of why I’m rereading The Thorn Birds with my friend Les. We both loved it twenty (or more) years ago, and decided it was time to revisit an “old friend”. I’m looking forward to reading The Night Circus for the first time this autumn. I heard so many wonderful things about it last autumn when I bought it!

  3. I’m interested in what your book club thinks about The Secret History.

    And truth, I was jealous of the picture of you lounging by the door in your apartment. Sounds totally peaceful. I am also jealous of the fact that you have watermelon. Nom.

  4. Oh Lu, doesn’t sound to me at all like you wasted a beautiful day! Sounds like you enjoyed it to the fullest…just as a Sunday should be.
    I’m tempted to join you for the Night Circus (just reread Something Wicked last month), but first I will have to find it–it’s still packed away in boxes from our move. And gee, going through boxes of books will be such a chore–HA!
    I *still* need to read The Secret History for a first time. I’m pretty darn sure I’m going to love that book, so I’ve no idea why it’s taking me so long to get to it…

  5. That sounds like the exact opposite of wasting your day. That sounds like a wonderful day. I actually just reread The Secret History too! I wish I could get my book club to read it, but I think we’re in the process of slightly disintegrating. :/

  6. I’d love to join you. I have to warn you that I’m not very good at keeping commitments at the moment, but I’ll try. That is, as long as the library owns a copy of the Bradbury book.

Leave a Reply

