Readers Imbibing Peril VII

I don’t know that Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings and I have really interacted much, but his blog has been a constant presence for me as a book blogger, even if I don’t comment on it as much as I should (true of all blogs I read regularly). The two “challenges” that Carl hosts throughout the year have been a mainstay of book blogging since I began this adventure over 4 years ago, but I haven’t really participated successfully since my first year blogging for RIP IV. Started from the beginning. Made a reading list. Stuck to it (more or less). This year, I’d like to change that. This is the year that I make RIP VII a priority. I will read spooky, chilling, exciting stories throughout September and October.

I have to admit, seeing the buttons for RIP VII every year gets me excited for fall. For coats and cider and leaves and a chill in the air (but just a chill!). Fall always feels like a new beginning in the way that spring and summer do not. Perhaps it is just a left over remnant from when I was in school, this idea that you could start over, just like you do on January 1st, and be a completely different person this year, if you wanted. This year,  I hope to do just that by participating fully in RIP VII. I’ll be participating at Peril The First, with a goal of reading 4 books!

Rereads

Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I am thinking of doing a casual readalong of these two books. Something Wicked This Way Comes is a book I read for RIP IV and it is one that has stuck with me. After reading The Night Circus this past winter, I noticed that Morgenstern was heavily influenced by Something Wicked. I want to read these two books one after the other, because I think they will speak to each other well. If you’re interested in joining me, let me know in the comments. I might do a more formal announcement later in the month.

New Reads

The Likeness by Tana French – I read In the Woods and it made me quite angry, but everyone keeps telling me to read her other books. So read her other books I shall!

Affinity by Sarah Waters – The group read for RIP VII is The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters, which I read when it first came out. Instead of rereading that title, I’m going to read another book by Sarah Waters that I haven’t read yetI’m very excited for this one!

Seance by John Harwood – I read The Ghost Writer and I didn’t love it, but I bought this one recently and I am going to give John Harwood another try. (See a theme, here?)

Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil by John Berendt – I totally stole this from Stephanie’s RIP V post! I have never read this book, though I have seen the movie. I’d like to read the book and rewatch the movie.

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson – This was on my RIP IV list and I never got around to reading it. I absolutely loved We Have Always Lived in the Castle and I’m excited to read another book by Jackson. It was recommended to me by the lovely She, whom I miss terribly. We used to be roommates, see, and now she lives so very far away!

And finally, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – This is the RIP group read for October. I’m both excited about the group read, and nervous, because I don’t have the best track record with Neil Gaiman’s books.

 

13 thoughts on “Readers Imbibing Peril VII

  1. I will join the people telling you to keep reading Tana French. The last third of In the Woods pissed me off real bad too, but the fact that Cassie narrates the second book got me to read it. There were some believability aspects in The Likeness but I certainly enjoyed it. I read Faithful Place this past spring, and it’s by far my favorite. I really want to read Broken Harbor for RIP this year, but so far my library hasn’t gotten it in audio form, and I’ve listened to all the others in audio so far.

    Also, I’ve had your idea of Something Wicked and The Night Circus in my head since you first mentioned it (maybe on Twitter?) ages ago. I have the audio version of the second here for RIP, and will probably try to read Something Wicked, which I’ve never read, at the same time. 😀

  2. Something Wicked This Way Comes and the Night Circus are the two books that I will definitely be reading for RIP VII. I am encouraged that you liked them so much you are reading them again! If I had thought about it more I probably should have started with Something Wicked but I have already started the Night Circus. I considered reading them at the same time but I was afraid they might blend together too much. I really enjoyed the Haunting of Hill House and need to read We Have Always Lived in the Castle. I look forward to your reviews!

    1. If I do make an official announcement for this readalong I do hope you’ll join in the discussion. And, yes, you NEED to read We Have Always Lived in the Castle! It is one of my favorite books.

  3. YES YES YES! Love The Haunting of Hill House! It’s different from WHALitC, but it’s still very good IMHO. The Graveyard Book was pretty great, too! And Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil was pretty good, too too. It was different than what I thought it would be like but an awesome non-fic addition fosho.

    I am really going to try to join RIP VII, but I see academic disaster looming in the distance. Miss you very, very much! <3<3<3

    Oh, and you know, if you happen to need another scary (AWESOME!) read, there's always The Monk.

    1. Ooh, I should totally put The Monk on this list, but I don’t know if I’ll get to it this year. The real question is: do I save it for next year? Or read it after RIP season? I’ve been wanting to read The Monk ever since you nearly read half the book out loud to me 🙂

  4. “The Graveyard Book” is awesome. “Coraline” freaked me out, but “The Graveyard Book” is just spooky enough and has a cohesive, original plot.

    Happy reading!

    1. I enjoyed Coraline immensely, though it really is the only Gaiman title that I’ve connected with. I’m hoping to change that by loving “The Graveyard Book.” Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I’m planning to read the Graveyard Book as well. An you know, I did plan to read The Night Circus this year and hadn’t considered it for RIP. I guess it’ll join the list 🙂

    Have fun!

  6. Ah, a person after my own heart: In the Woods pissed me off BIG TIME!!! I listened to the audio version a couple of years ago. I was so sucked in. I spent hours driving around because I didn’t want to have to get out of the story. And when it all was said and done I was so angry about things. I never could post about it because I got so worked up about it and so many people I know loved it, and love her work, and I didn’t want it to seem like I was putting them down. But ever time I see one of her books at the store the frustration just comes boiling up.

    I picked up The Night Circus when it came out but didn’t read it. It is on my list for this year’s RIP challenge.

    Glad you are doing The Graveyard Book with us. I hope you’ll enjoy it. It is a nice YA coming of age story with a good bit of moody atmosphere to it. And each chapter in some ways being a short story unto itself, outside of the framing chapters, is a concept that works well for me.

    We Have Always Lived in the Castle is fantastic, isn’t it? I enjoyed Haunting of Hill House as well. Not as much, but it is worth reading.

    Thanks so much for your enthusiastic participation. I’m looking forward to your reviews, and if you ever want to vent about Into the Woods, shoot me an email. LOL!

  7. I see that you are reading a Waters book. Have you read The Little Stranger? If not, I Estella Society is hosting a readalong. (I’m addicted to RALs this year, it seems).

  8. You are in for a treat with Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. That is one of my favorite books and while I think the film is decent, it makes it even more so when you watch the film again after you’ve read the book. My husband and I visited Savannah, Georgia a few years ago and did a walking tour specifically for the events in this book and it was really quite fascinating.

    I love the RIP event! I am not sure what I’ll be reading, but I am considering Tana French, Daphne Du Maurier, and Sarah Waters.

  9. Hmmm…silly me didn’t even realize that The Night Circus as RIP material–think I’ll have to add that to my pool. I just reread Something Wicked This Way Comes a couple weeks ago–oh how I love that book!

    I’m hoping to read The Haunting of Hill House this year, too (sort of surprised I haven’t already). I’m like you in adoring We Have Always Live in the Castle!

    And you know, I have a feeling that you really will love The Graveyard Book. I’d bet money on it, actually. 🙂

Leave a Reply

