Poetry Project August Round Up

Hello poetry darlings! Today is the official end of the Poetry Project for August. This was an amazing month. I can’t tell you how happy reading your posts made me all month. I am very pleased with the way the new format is working. The conversation really flows from one blog to the next. This Project wouldn’t exist without all of you who participate, so thank you. I really can’t tell you how amazing it has been to see so many blogs talking about poetry.

One exciting thing that has come out of the Poetry Project is all the new poetry blogs that have found their way here. Welcome! It’s also been great to see people really exploring poetry for the first time. I hope you’re a little less intimidated at the end of August than you were at the beginning.

If you are posting today and you want your post to be included in a round up, please link to it in the Mr. Linky for September, which will be hosted on my tireless, amazing co-host Kelly’s blog.

Now, onto the round up!

Kristin @ MatchedWith posts this month featuring poems by Wallace Stevens, WH Auden, and Anne Sexton, Kristin really shared some amazing poems! She also wrote her own poem, modeled after Wallace Stevens’s “Thirteen Ways of Looking At A Blackbird.”

Snowball @ Come Sit By The Hearth: Snowball read Pulitzer Prize-winner Earnest Hemingway for this month’s challenge, working her way around the prompt a little bit since he won the prize for fiction, not poetry. You know what I say, “rules” were meant to be broken! The poems she includes are interesting and one of them is very funny. She also posted a reaction to “A poem a day” by William Sieghart and a few poems from Rita Dove’s collection American Smooth. 

Amy @ New Century Reading: Amy shared the poem “Morning Song” by Sylvia Plath, commenting that she really loves the way Plath represented motherhood in her poetry.

Jeanne @ Necromancy Never Pays: Jeanne shared two amazing poems and poets with us this month: “The Lake Isle at Innisfree” by WB Yeats and “Spiral Notebook” by one of my favorite poets, Ted Kooser.

Gavin @ Page 247: Gavin shared two poems by new-to-me poet Lisel Mueller called “Sometimes, When the Light” and “Why We Tell Stories.” She also shared “Thanks” by WS Merwin.

Nancy @ Simple Clockwork: Nancy shared poetry connected by a theme: adultery. In her post, she compared the poems “For My Lover, Returning to his Wife” by Anne Sexton, “What My Lips Have Kissed” by Edna St. Vincent Millay, “I Knew A Woman” by Theodore Roethke, and “Sonnet to a Gardener: II” by Filipino poet Trinidad Tarrosa-Subido. This post is fascinating! She also posted about Angela Manalang-Gloria, another Filipino poet. She included the poems “Revolt from Hymen” and “Soledad.”

Evelyn N. Alfred @ Librarian Dreams: Evelyn shared the poem “Straw Hat” by Rita Dove, another new-to-me poet that I’ll be exploring more now.

AnnaEA @ Knit-Write: AnnaEA shared the poem “Sorrow” by Edna St. Vincent Millay. Millay is one of my very favorite poets, so I was thrilled to have a reason to read so many of her poems this month!

Lizzy @ Lizzy’s Literary Life: On Lizzy’s blog, she is giving away two signed copies of The Magicians of Edinburgh by Ron Butlin. You have until September 2nd to enter!

Vasilly @ 1330vVasilly posted about a lovely poem called “The Healing Time” by Pesha Joyce Gertler. It was also her birthday! Go wish her happy birthday.

Kaye @ the road goes ever ever on: Kaye did something different and great for the Poetry Project – she highlighted a blog, DS at The Third-Storey Window, who often features poetry. I love this!

Trish @ Love, Laughter & a Touch of Insanity: Trish! I have been begging and begging Trish to participate and I’m so happy and grateful she did. Trish is so honest about talking about poetry and how it can be difficult sometimes, especially if we’re used to blogging about books. They’re very different to talk about. Trish does an amazing job discussing her reaction to Conrad Aiken’s “Morning Song.”

Here, on Regular Rumination: This month, I talked about my favorite Pulitzer Prize-winning poets, I wrote a how-to post called “How to Love A Poem,” I posted the poem “At Some Point, They’ll Want to Know What it Was Like” by Tracy K. Smith, and I did a few random poetry lines from random poetry books.

Kelly @ The Written World (my co-host!): Kelly posted her thoughts on two books of poetry: New Hampshire by Robert Frost (Part 1 and Part 2) and The Ballad of the Harp-Weaver by Edna St. Vincent Millay. I absolutely love how she blogs about each poem!

I hope you’ll take some time to click through these links and read the poems that the Poetry Project participants shared or suggested. There are amazing poems included in this list and it would be a great way to discover new poets.

Thank you again for making August such a huge success for the Poetry Project! Remember, next month’s theme is a “classic” poem. Play with that theme! Kelly will have more about this month’s theme on her blog on Wednesday, September 5 and I will have a list of my suggestions, just like this month. I hope to see you there!

7 thoughts on “Poetry Project August Round Up

  1. LOL!! You guys don’t have to twist my arm, you just need to remind me to death. 😉 Kelly knows this by now…I don’t mind the nudging on twitter. I’m just so sorry it took me until the end of the month to actually post something.

    And what I realized today while bloghopping–some of the most powerful posts weren’t the ones that talked about the poems. Next time I think I’ll share more of the actual poem (although I did provide some snippets and the reading video). Really looking forward to next month. I NEED more poetry in my life, I’m learning.

  2. I’m personally happy that many have joined. I went over to some posts and got inspired by the poems they featured. I’m looking forward to September! 🙂

Leave a Reply

