Poetry Project – Pulitzer August

This is your friendly reminder that you have only a few days left in August to post about  poetry and, if you decided to follow along with our prompt, Pulitzer Prize-winning poets. Please be sure to sign up with the Mr. Linky at the bottom of this post by August 31st. On September 1st, I will post a round-up of all the poetry posts you send me! I can’t wait to read them all.

Anyway, let’s play Random Line from a Random Poem from a Random Poetry Magazine on Lu’s shelf! I have Poetry Magazines from September-June on my shelf. I just pulled this random number sequence from random.org (because I’m cool like that): 5, 4, 4.

he thinks he knows

That’s poem 4, line 4, from the April 2012 issue of Poetry magazine. It’s from a poem called “Work” by Nate Klug.

This experiment was not nearly as fun as I thought it was going to be. You win some, you lose some.

Should we try again? What if we do random lines from a random poem from a random Poetry magazine? I’ll pick 4 numbers: 4, 4, 9-10

and nibble like sleepwalkers held fast —
brittle beauty — might this be the last?
(“Wherof the Gift is Small” by Maxine Kumin)

Okay, now that was fun. I love seeing these lines out of context. They are beautiful on their own, but I suggest you seek out the poem in its entirety. You can read the full poem on the Poetry Foundation website.

 

2 thoughts on “Poetry Project – Pulitzer August

  1. A persistent line from IT by Stephen King: “He thrusts his fist against the post and still insists he sees the ghosts”. Is it the cadence that I like? (runs off to look up defn of ‘cadence’ to make sure…) Yep, I like the rhythm.

    Maybe that’s what I need to like poetry? the language and words of how to describe it?
    🙂

Leave a Reply

